How many frames does a new shp unit need?

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Post Reply
APYT
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:15 pm

How many frames does a new shp unit need?

Post by APYT »

I am unfamiliar with making units in shp, so I am making sure I am putting the right stuff in. I do see that the harvester has eight frames, whereas something like the hovercraft has 32 frames.

User avatar
Graion Dilach
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: How many frames does a new shp unit need?

Post by Graion Dilach »

Technically one.

Practically - the modder can set up how many facings the unit should have. OpenRA supports the copout method Age of Empires had as well (with every unit having 5 facings in artwork being N, NW, W, SW, S and the engine mirroring the W frames for the E counterparts).

The resulting amount of facings (including mirrored) should be among 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, or 64 frames. Technically it might be any value between 1 and 256 IIRC but values which are not a power of 2 might pose issues when the actual facing is rounded to the nearest visual frame and maintaining 128/256 (or 64 for the most part) facings do not worth the effort required.

User avatar
Inq
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 2:48 am

Re: How many frames does a new shp unit need?

Post by Inq »

32 is generally a smooth rotation & optimal, some units in RA have 16 such as the ships.

Ronald
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: How many frames does a new shp unit need?

Post by Ronald »

Thanks Graion for this detailed explanation.

Other question:
What are the raw render parameters one needs to create from a 3D (Blender) Model as in:
- Image output format (bmp? jpg? png? other?)
- Image dimensions (Height, Width in pixels)
- Color depth (8,16,32 bts colour coded?)

See my first attempt to create a JetSkit for Punsho's mods over here
- viewtopic.php?f=82&t=21084#p311189

Post Reply