Formation functionality

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Temprasphere
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:45 am

Formation functionality

Post by Temprasphere » Sat May 18, 2019 8:45 am

What happened to pressing the formation key. Units would all move at the same speed

Is this still a thing in open ra?

abcdefg30
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: Formation functionality

Post by abcdefg30 » Sat May 18, 2019 2:05 pm

It was never added, we still have an open issue for it: OpenRA/OpenRA#3880

Temprasphere
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Formation functionality

Post by Temprasphere » Sun May 19, 2019 2:38 am

That ticket was for formations. Explicitly said at the bottom.

Is there one open for slowest link speed grouping?

User avatar
netnazgul
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:32 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: Formation functionality

Post by netnazgul » Sat May 25, 2019 11:06 am

Aren't formations and "units move at theh same speed" the same thing? Because that's how it worked for the original as far as I know.

Matt
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Formation functionality

Post by Matt » Sat May 25, 2019 12:19 pm

Speed grouping was rejected in https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/pull/13885

User avatar
netnazgul
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:32 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: Formation functionality

Post by netnazgul » Sat May 25, 2019 1:39 pm

Maybe it can be revived.

JayEx
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:23 pm

Re: Formation functionality

Post by JayEx » Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:50 pm

Maybe there's an alternate technique I've never learned but I find it aggravating when I have medics that idly move to the head of an infantry unit and directly into the line of enemy fire. In classic RA I always used the formation option to prevent this by keeping them at the back of the line. I love OpenRA, and am very grateful for the community of developers that freely maintain it, but I'm surprised that after quite a few years there has been little push to re-implement this feature.

Post Reply