OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

Hello All,
I'm currently doing a lot (of the same type of) game testing in Skirmish mode against (a number of) AI-bots.
For this purpose I use the exact same player / map-option setting every single time.

When I startup OpenRA in Skirmish Mode, and I want to select the same map..
OpenRA seems "to remember" some (not all) settings from the previous map I choose.
openra_match_settings_player.jpg
openra_match_settings_player.jpg (130.08 KiB) Viewed 445 times
[Player] settings are not remember
openra_match_settings_map.jpg
openra_match_settings_map.jpg (275.52 KiB) Viewed 445 times
[Map Options] settings seem to have their own build-in default settings

QUESTIONS:
1. Are the default [Player] setting stored somewhere?
2. If yes: In which OpenRA configuration file(s) are the [Player] setting stored and how??
..
3. Are the default [Map Options] setting stored somewhere?
4. If yes: In which OpenRA configuration file(s) are the [MapOptions] setting stored and how?
..
5. Is it possible to manually customize them, before the launch of OpenRA?
or can they only be altered via the OpenRa build-in menus?
Last edited by Ronald on Wed Sep 02, 2020 11:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

SirCake
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:40 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by SirCake »

It's a bit tricky.
By default map options carry over from the previous map.
You can edit the rules of the map and "Lock" the options you want, however (and you have to, just defining the value you want doesn't do anything). So set and lock the options you want.

See here, it's a bit of trial and error.
https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Map-Options

You are probably better off setting the options every time or use /all in game chat to enable everything (cheat). Useful for development.

SirCake
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:40 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by SirCake »

The [AR] maps (action ready) do this with standard competitive options, you may want to download such a map and look at the code in map.yaml and other .yaml's there.

Cheers

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

Update so far:
1. With some regular "string-searching" I already found this out:
C:\Program_Files\OpenRA\mods\common\chrome\
- lobby.yaml
- lobby-options.yaml
- mainmenu.yaml
contain some sort of (multi-platform portable) "Graphics User Interface" layout description data.
These files are loaded with items like: button_identifiers, menu-identifiers, screen-coordinates, text-strings, tooltips and menu_labels.

When searching on other textstrings - describing the Skirmish (map-)options I want to be able to manually adjust myself
I end up lost swimmming around in a binary soup with a lot of text-strings called:
C:\Program_Files\OpenRA\mods\common\OpenRA.Mods.Common.dll

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

Thank for your reply SirCake.
SirCake wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:53 am
It's a bit tricky. By default map options carry over from the previous map.
If they carry over, where are these setting being stored (temporarily)?
SirCake wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:53 am
You can edit the rules of the map and "Lock" the options you want, however (and you have to, just defining the value you want doesn't do anything). So set and lock the options you want.
AHA! the map-options are stored INSIDE the map itself, rather then somewhere inside the OpenRA game_engine settings itself.
This (now) makes logical sense to me, thanks for the eye-opener.
SirCake wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:53 am
See here, it's a bit of trial and error.
https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Map-Options
THANK YOU! This was the type-of-stuff I was searching for (on my own computer)
SirCake wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:53 am
You are probably better off setting the options every time or use /all in game chat to enable everything (cheat). Useful for development.
Naah. if I _can_ can "automate things" (with a little effort), I'll strive to "automate things" (to save much time later on).

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

Update2: I've got the basics working. Now it is time for tweaking the map rules,
Pitfight_Green_Edit_custom_map_options.jpg
Pitfight_Green_Edit_custom_map_options.jpg (208.72 KiB) Viewed 426 times
Thank SirCake, for pointing me in the right direction.

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

This story unfortunately continues ...
After reading the page SirCake pointed me
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Map-Options

I've also found another - "related" - page over here:
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/C ... ng-At-Once

I've been busy all morning - copying and pasting - the exact samples given into my Notepad++ Editor
NPP_settings.jpg
NPP_settings.jpg (169.62 KiB) Viewed 410 times
Inside Notepad++ I've turned on the option [Show All Characters] in order to see exactly what is being pasted inside the map.yaml file.

Unfortunately sometimes - a "copied-and-pasted-code_example"
- works fine as can be seen in the above posting.
- screws up again (and again and again) for no logical reason at all


QUESTION-1: What is the exact ASCII (level) syntax of these example and/or mini-yaml language?
map_yaml_exact_syntax_errors.jpg
map_yaml_exact_syntax_errors.jpg (37.78 KiB) Viewed 410 times
I've tried to locate the exact syntax inside the OpenRA Book over here, but (again) no luck:
-https://www.openra.net/book/modding/min ... yntax.html

I've already tried (multiple variations of):
- <TAB's>
- <SPACE's>
- <[LF} - "LineFeeds">
- <[CR} - "Carriage Returns">
at all possible "mini-yaml-rule" places, but it keeps screwing up.

QUESTION-2: Is this my syntax error / OpenRA mini-yaml-parser bug? / option3,4,n?

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

Update: I have created a 2nd thread over here since i _think_ i've encountered a bug / mini-yaml parser error:
- viewtopic.php?f=82&t=21257

I am looking forward reading on your viewpoints on this matter

SirCake
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:40 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by SirCake »

Unfortunately that page is now 2.5 years old and probably outdated..
The one with everything in it.

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

The map.yaml mystery continues
10.jpg
10.jpg (67.78 KiB) Viewed 382 times
..
11.jpg
11.jpg (66.3 KiB) Viewed 382 times
..

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

12.jpg
12.jpg (67.5 KiB) Viewed 382 times
..
13.jpg
13.jpg (67.35 KiB) Viewed 382 times
..
Conclusion for now: It does not matter:
- What value one enters (true /false)
- In which order one puts the parameter in the map.yaml file
-- variablename-Checkbox_Locked 1st, variablename_Checkbox_Enable 2nd
-- variablename-Checkbox_Enable 1st , variablename_Checkbox_Locked 2nd
It all results in the same unpredictable outcome (see the 4 printscreens above).


NOTE: Thanks everyone for your helping efforts so far - much appreciated:
- I will stop for now with this topic until somebody properly updates the Github "documentation" on this topic.
- I will scavenge the Resource Center for maps which do have a working map.yaml and reverse engineer them for my own documentation.

lawANDorder
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:20 pm

Re: [HALTED] OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by lawANDorder »

People can't help you based on screenshots. Upload your complete .oramap instead. To be blunt: nobody needs your mod but *you* want others to invest their time into it. Make it as easy as possible for *them* to understand what you want, *what you tried* and what the results have been.

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: [HALTED] OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

lawANDorder wrote:
Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:37 pm
Make it as easy as possible for *them* to understand what you want, *what you tried* and what the results have been.
I've already done this over here in this thread:
-viewtopic.php?f=82&t=21257

User avatar
WhoCares
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:28 pm

Re: [HALTED] OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by WhoCares »

Map options in a yaml file inside the map will only be applied if they are locked

If they are not locked they are overridden by the lobby (server). Server owners can set their server but i have no idea if a client can set his own lobby rules for skirmish in a config file.

my advice, set all the options the state you want and lock them all.

Ronald
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: [HALTED] OpenRA - Startup settings (player / mapoptions) location

Post by Ronald »

WhoCares wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:54 am
Map options in a yaml file inside the map will only be applied if they are locked
my advice, set all the options the state you want and lock them all.
Thanks for the clarification on the relation between both settings (and server-related matters)
Thats plain and simple: Set the desired state first and lock'm all.
WhoCares wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:54 am
If they are not locked they are overridden by the lobby (server).
Server owners can set their server but i have no idea if a client can set his own lobby rules for skirmish in a config file.
I have not gotten this far (online multiplayer) WhoCares, since i'm only testing things out in (Stand-alone) Skirmish mode...
which does seem to spawn a BACKGROUND_SERVER on my own computer,into which i make a login with the OpenRA CLIENT software.

Post Reply