Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
raymond
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 6:41 pm

Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by raymond »

Hello,

according to https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Translation OpenRA ist fully translated into some languages, but the localisation support is currently disabled.

It is possible to activate the translation in future versions or how can I download the translation and active the support manually?

regards,
Raymond

Ronald
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by Ronald »

raymond wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 6:45 pm
Hello,
according to https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Translation OpenRA ist fully translated into some languages, but the localisation support is currently disabled.
1. Note that this page has not been updated since 6 Juli 2014

2. I've found something related for Translation support on the OpenRA Github over here:
Note: This page has not being updated since 10 Jan 2016
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/issues/10475
raymond wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 6:45 pm
It is possible to activate the translation in future versions or how can I download the translation and active the support manually?
3. Great question Raymond. Just image the entire World - being able to
- play OpenRA in their own native languages (GUI and voice sample wise)?
- modify the OpenRA GameEngine (and its MOD's) - language-wise - themselves?

4. I've already found somebody on Youtube who has a full working German Language version over here
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSk2vXAVkKE
Perhaps you can get in contact with them?

5. Have you already looked around on the Project Perfect Mod website / forum?
- https://www.ppmsite.com/
They have a lot of knowledge (too) and tools to modify almost anything your want
..
..
6. I would like to add 2 more questions to your question Raymond:
Which OpenRA GameEngine and MOD Files are the ones that contain:
- Graphic User interface text strings (which need to be translated from English to one's own language)
- The English voice samples (which need to recreated into one's own native language)

Matt
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by Matt »

That YouTube video shows someone using German .mix files which are binary compatible, but it doesn't translate anything. The tooltips are still in English.

Ronald
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by Ronald »

Matt wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:56 am
That YouTube video shows someone using German .mix files which are binary compatible, but it doesn't translate anything. The tooltips are still in English.
@Matt: As far as I can hear, all in-game voices have already translated towards the German languege, which is - to me - at least a good start.

Who knows how this project will evolve overtime, when this person is able to find any decent human-readable documentation on how and where to do the rest of the translation work needed to get a fully localized OpenRA copy in the German language (menu's / description text / ingame sounds / voices) ?

SirCake
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:40 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by SirCake »

Ronald,
Command and conquer (TM) red alert was published in 1996 and translated to many languages, audio files(voices and sounds), videos and in-game unit names included. This is not an achievement of OpenRA, but of C&C RA.
So there are files out there you can use to get localized voices and unit icons right now (the aforementioned .mix files).

OpenRA uses only the English files by default, but it is fairly easy to get others going (I did this for audio and icons in german once). I forgot how to do it though ~.~.

All other text like tooltips, main menu buttons etc. can't be localized right now.

Ronald
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by Ronald »

SirCake wrote:
Mon Sep 28, 2020 1:31 pm
Command and conquer (TM) red alert was published in 1996 and translated to many languages, audio files(voices and sounds), videos and in-game unit names included.
I was not aware of the fact that the original CnC was published in many other language versions, since I only own the English variants of CnC, Ra, TS, CnCG. So thank you for this information SirCake.
SirCake wrote:
Mon Sep 28, 2020 1:31 pm
All other text like tooltips, main menu buttons etc. can't be localized right now.
Can you explain tome why this is not possible? ....because A little surfing on the Internet along the other member-supportive CnC / RA / TD CnCG forums learned me these following facts:

Starting on OpenRA's own Github / Wiki:
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Audio-guide
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Adding-Sounds
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Modding-Guide
- https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/R ... ngineering

Visuals - GIMP and SHP Builder - for creating new translated icons.
- https://www.gimp.org
- https://www.ppmsite.com/shpbuilderinfo/

Audio related: AUDACITY and XCCmixer - for creatign new oice samples
- https://www.audacityteam.org/
- https://sourceforge.net/projects/xccu/f ... C%20Mixer/

VIDEO RELATED files:
- https://web.archive.org/web/20070812201 ... ix-format/
- https://xhp.xwis.net/documents/MIX_Format.html
- https://web.archive.org/web/20070824045 ... deo-lists/

Ingame menus and miniyaml unit description finding and editing - Total Commander, Notepad++
- https://www.ghisler.com/
- https://notepad-plus-plus.org/


For where I stand: The OpenRA community needs to 2 (3) more things to get going with this:
- OpenRA developers, who start to empower the community - by producing human readable documentation and good examples to learn from.
- A group of enthusiastic OpenRA Modding community members, who start collaboratinge and get to work to create their own localized voices / sounds / icons / videos:
and - for example:
- share these localized materials with the community via the OpenRA Resource Center again.
- offer them - under the righ licenses of course - to the OpenRA developers to be embedded in future OpenRA versions.

- (A "Any-video-format"-into-CnC-MIXFILE converter so people can even add their own custom videos into OpenRA)

QUESTION:
Did I miss something?

SirCake
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:40 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by SirCake »

you missed xcc mixer, which allows importing and exporting from mix files. somewhere on ppm forums.
But openRA does not rely on mix files. you can add any new content without mix files.

The prime reason why it is not possible to translate is that "THERE CAN ONLY BE ONE!" language at the same time in OpenRA code at the moment. (excuse the joke) Why? Because the language lines are "hardcoded" atm (not really but hardcoded enough). The devs would fist have to put switches or abstracted lists everywhere which are easily/dynamically switchable. It's not done yet!

General note: As this is a hobby project for all developers it is frowned upon to demand stuff from the devs. That certainly gets you nowhere.

The documentation may be a bit lackluster for the c# code stuff, but I think the general idea is that IF you can code with c# and MSVS2017, then you'll find your way around. There are modern software development methods which acutally encourage low/no documentation, since, as you noticed, documentation quickly outdates.
Also, Ronald, you are learning everything at once, on every level. Mapping, modding,(<-there is a difference here->) coding, modeling, software development etc. A truly monumental effort. Please gather some more experience before blaming others for providing not enough supportive material for you. There should be tutorials for everyhting on the internet.

On you blender question, idk where you posted that - in blender you can choose "isometric" camera, then make an animation which rotates the camera in 8 or 16 or 32 steps around the model you made and have it save as seperate images. then you have a sequence of images which shows your model in 8/16/32 facings. Use SHP builder to import those images (you have to rename first to 001..032) and save as shp(ts) file (even if you are going for RA models). Put that .shp file in a custom map and edit the rules file of that map. You must modify the sequences: section (not rules: (!)) and re-add the complete sequence definition of unit from the mods/ra/sequences folder. Exchange or add "mytupolevbomber.shp" behind the definition for the "mig: <here> idle:" for example. Then your tupolev model should be in the game on this one map.
As you can see it is a complex process.

Happy modding :)
Cheers

lawANDorder
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:20 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by lawANDorder »

Removed my own post which is better suited as PM after reading forum rules.
Last edited by lawANDorder on Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ronald
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: Translation support currently disabled...please activate it

Post by Ronald »

SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
You missed xcc mixer, which allows importing and exporting from mix files. somewhere on ppm forums.
But openRA does not rely on mix files. you can add any new content without mix files.
Thanks for the feedback, I indeed missed that one.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
The prime reason why it is not possible to translate is that "THERE CAN ONLY BE ONE!" language at the same time in OpenRA code at the moment. (excuse the joke) Why? Because the language lines are "hardcoded" atm (not really but hardcoded enough). The devs would first have to put switches or abstracted lists everywhere which are easily/dynamically switchable. It's not done yet!
Now this explains a lot. Thanks for the clarification on this matter.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
General note: As this is a hobby project for all developers it is frowned upon to demand stuff from the devs.
Let's agree to disagree on this matter. See * below
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
The documentation may be a bit lackluster for the c# code stuff, but I think the general idea is that IF you can code with c# and MSVS2017, then you'll find your way around.
Let's agree to disagree on this matter.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
There are modern software development methods which actually encourage low/no documentation, since, as you noticed, documentation quickly outdates.
*
As a professional ICT-consultant I've worked on many real-life industrial-grade projects over the years. Projects where I was the one who had to sink his teeth into serious no/undocumented stuff / business-processes and cut my way through all sorts of *.* in order to get some real work done, in the same way an oldkool TS NOD "Devils tongue" tank cuts out its own path (above orunder ground)
ts_nod_devil_tongue_tank.jpg
ts_nod_devil_tongue_tank.jpg (141.14 KiB) Viewed 233 times
For those real-life experiences here is what i've learned:
- lack of documentation - in the end - always comes down to lack of personal discipline / mentality / time / money / budget / other resources.
- systematic lack-of-human-readable-documentation always benefits certain individuals inside an organisation / group.
- this creates - to my opinion - artificial barriers / hidden power structures as in:
-- "the Devs" vrs "the (rest of the) Community"
-- "the Insiders" vrs "the Outsiders"
- this creates an awful lot of unnecessary overhead for "the outsiders" who need to cut through those barriers again in order to do their jobs.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
Also, Ronald, you are learning everything at once, on every level. Mapping, modding,(<-there is a difference here->) coding, modelling, software development etc. A truly monumental effort.
This is just me - applying what i already in my life - into the OpenRA community SirCake. Like you i'm already working on my own OpenRA mod.
But currently I am still on a quest to find that stuff I need to know in order for me to be able to create what I want with the OpenRA GameEngine.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
Please gather some more experience before blaming others for providing not enough supportive material for you.
"The act of Blaming" is only for those who are not willing to do the hard work themselves, and therefore start to point fingers at others
As you can see over here:
- viewtopic.php?f=82&t=20992

And in many other of my postings on the forum - to even help out others who have questions i'm already able to answer myself:
- search.php?keywords=Ronald

I choose do not "blame" anyone, since I take my own responsibility to create / find out what is not yet there for what ever reason.
Even if I have to dig through the entire OpenRA Source_Code myself, which is - by the way - a funny way to learn how-stuff-really-works.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
There should be tutorials for everything on the internet.
Let again agree to disagree on this matter. I've already found some stuff here and there that can become useful later on in time.
Unfortunately not everything labelled as "tutorial" works for me, since that material does not start at the very basics.
If you want, you can download my slideshow regarding the topic of "Knowledge Transfer" from here:
- https://www.dropbox.com/s/5hr3gmqjcsbps ... y_2020.zip
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
On you blender question, idk where you posted that - in blender you can choose "isometric" camera, then make an animation which rotates the camera in 8 or 16 or 32 steps around the model you made and have it save as separate images. then you have a sequence of images which shows your model in 8/16/32 facings.
Now we are talking about this topic:
- What is the maximum amount of faces any .SHP file can contain? How many faces to you use on your models?
- What is the maximum image_resolution the faces inside a .SHP file can contain?
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
Use SHP builder to import those images (you have to rename first to 001..032) and save as shp(ts) file (even if you are going for RA models).
Aha! As far as i was able to find, i only found references for SHP-Builder for creation of TS-related ship files on the PPM-forum.

Thanks (again) for clarifying this up for me SirCake.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
Put that .shp file in a custom map and edit the rules file of that map. You must modify the sequences: section (not rules: (!)) and re-add the complete sequence definition of unit from the mods/ra/sequences folder. Exchange or add "mytupolevbomber.shp" behind the definition for the "mig: <here> idle:" for example. Then your tupolev model should be in the game on this one map.
Thanks again Sircake, this is very helpful. I'm really looking forward to get to this point in the upcoming weeks.
SirCake wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:25 am
As you can see it is a complex process.
Looking around on other CnC, RA, TD, OpenRA modding forums as well, I'm already getting a pretty good overview of the entire "OpenRA - Asset Creation process" SirCake. Once I've have found enough knowledge on all individuals pieces-of-the-pipeline, they will fall into its natural place, and then MODDING fun can truly begin :-)

Thanks for all the waypointers and helping me to advance forward SirCake.
I'd wish there where more MOD-ers in this forum with your spirit, who are truly willing to help others forward too.

NOTE TO THE FORUM_ADMINS:
If this is not the correct place on the OpenRA forum, (for the discussion between SirCake and me) feel free to repost this discussion in another thread in the correct location. It is not my intention to de-rail this ("translation support" only topic), but I do not have learned yet know to end one thread and start a new thread (on the same topic) anywhere else on the forum
If you can teach me how to do this properly the right way, that would me much appreciated!

Post Reply