Questions & Answers (for Newbies and non-Newbies)

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Questions & Answers (for Newbies and non-Newbies)

Post by FRenzy »

Hi all,

I was wondering what was the best place to ask OpenRA related questions, without spamming with new posts here or on GitHub.

So I guess this could be a centralized post, where anybody could just ask any question that doesn't need a new post. (I didn't find such a post in here, so I guessed I could start one)



So here is a question for me : anyone knows what is the HP a of husk ? Does it depend on the original vehicle ?

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

Another question : does veterancy affect line of sight ?

I watched a replay where it slightly seemed to be the case ... but not sure though

noobmapmaker
Posts: 1086
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:59 am

Post by noobmapmaker »

Heard you can cue up different moves? How does that work? E.g. unit moves from place 1 to place 2 then A-move to place 3 and then move to place 4.
Playlist with ALL games of the Dark Tournament Youtube.com/CorrodeCasts
Consider supporting OpenRA by setting a bounty or by donating for a server

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

noobmapmaker wrote: Heard you can cue up different moves? How does that work? E.g. unit moves from place 1 to place 2 then A-move to place 3 and then move to place 4.
Use Shift+click on the desired locations

You can use it also on an MCV, to queue moving and deployment. However it doesn't work on loaded vehicles (ranger, APC, ...), neither with hotkeys.

Also Shift is used for producing 5 units / buildings ! :)

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

However, it seems to me that it doesn't work correctly with A-move.
A-moving (even with Shift) seems to override the queue

eskimo
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:59 pm

Post by eskimo »

There was Omnom's thread for questions, but it's not titled the best. Also could do with sticky-ing.

Shift moves i've found don't work with harvesters which is annoying. Shift and A move works for me, as far as i'm aware though! So could be wrong.

Frame_Limiter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:55 pm

Post by Frame_Limiter »

Hey FRenzy,

Husk HP & armor for the three mods:

RA Husks: 280hp / heavy armor.
TD Husks: 140hp / light armor.
D2K Husks: 75hp / light armor.


Veteran units have the same vision range as non-ranked units.

The veteran unit bonuses are: RA, TD, D2K
∙Damage
∙Firepower
∙Speed
∙Reload Delay
∙Inaccuracy
∙Self healing (rank-4)

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

eskimo wrote: There was Omnom's thread for questions, but it's not titled the best. Also could do with sticky-ing.
True, I forgot about this one. However it seems to be it has turned into a post for suggestions ? Maybe there could two different posts.
I would like to keep this one exclusively for Q&A about the game itself.
eskimo wrote: Shift moves i've found don't work with harvesters which is annoying. Shift and A move works for me, as far as i'm aware though! So could be wrong.
True for harvesters.
Can't get to do it with A-move. To be sure, I tried shift+ moving in one direction, then shift A-moving in the other one, my units directly turned back, so I guess it overrides.
If you know how to do it correctly, I'd be happy to know how :P



@Frame_Limiter : awesome, thanks !
What's the difference between Damage and Firepower ?
Damage = damage taken, Firepower = damage dealt ?

Frame_Limiter
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:55 pm

Post by Frame_Limiter »

FRenzy wrote: @Frame_Limiter : awesome, thanks !
What's the difference between Damage and Firepower ?
Damage = damage taken, Firepower = damage dealt ?
Yep.

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

Good to know, thanks !

zinc
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:46 pm

Post by zinc »

Frame_Limiter wrote: Hey FRenzy,

Husk HP & armor for the three mods:

RA Husks: 280hp / heavy armor.
TD Husks: 140hp / light armor.
D2K Husks: 75hp / light armor.


Veteran units have the same vision range as non-ranked units.

The veteran unit bonuses are: RA, TD, D2K
∙Damage
∙Firepower
∙Speed
∙Reload Delay
∙Inaccuracy
∙Self healing (rank-4)
Never noticed anything self healing.

Actually that could be a good crate ability for troops I think.

eskimo
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:59 pm

Post by eskimo »

We need some form of sticky, or maybe two. This one and the suggestions one too. As yeah, Om's was in response to balance threads originally.

For A shift.
Try:
First A move.
Then, A + shift click.
Then A + shift click (repeating.)

The shift button always comes second. Though i'm still not sure what works and what doesn't entirely. I think shift repair bay back to another position is fine, as is engi capping.

MCV move then deploy on shift i can't get to work. Neither undeploy and move.

I've not tried force move and then A move in one shift command yet.

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

eskimo wrote: We need some form of sticky, or maybe two. This one and the suggestions one too. As yeah, Om's was in response to balance threads originally.
Definitely ! :)
eskimo wrote: For A shift.
Try:
First A move.
Then, A + shift click.
Then A + shift click (repeating.)

The shift button always comes second. Though i'm still not sure what works and what doesn't entirely. I think shift repair bay back to another position is fine, as is engi capping.

MCV move then deploy on shift i can't get to work. Neither undeploy and move.

I've not tried force move and then A move in one shift command yet.
I'm wondering this is some kind of bug in the new release.
Tried queuing A-moves again, still nope :P but I managed to queue 1 A-move, with several normal moves afterwards.

The MCV move & deploy queueing is also buggy. Sometimes works, but it deploys at the first location of the path ... AFAIR it was working corrrectly (or maybe I was never using it with a complex path).

I found out about the repair bay. Yes works ... but after queueing movements, the unit then goes to the rally point of the SD. :?

Engy-capping : yes. Very useful.

I'll open a Github issue on that

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy »

How is the chance calculated when choosing "Any" faction ?

Is it 20% each faction (so 60/40 for Allies/Soviets) ?
Or 50/50 Allies/soviet, then distributed ?

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Sleipnir »

50/50 Allies/Soviet, then distributed.

Post Reply