Dune 2K's AI difficulty?

Omnius = Easy or am I an idiot?

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
wymario
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:39 pm

Dune 2K's AI difficulty?

Post by wymario »

So, I'm a bit new to OpenRA, and I'm a bit baffled by a certain design decision with the Dune 2000 mod. Namely, the AI "difficulties" have names instead of behaviors or difficulty names. It's screwing me up because I have no idea what they translate to. So, what does each AI do?

abcdefg30
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Post by abcdefg30 »

There isn't a clear definition on which AI does what. Some thoughts can be found at http://www.sleipnirstuff.com/forum/view ... 82&t=17676 however.

abcdefg30
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Post by abcdefg30 »

Fun fact, "discovered" by JOo/microbit: Omnious is the name of the leader of the thinking machines in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dune:_The_Machine_Crusade . I couldn't find anything on the other names though.

User avatar
-Jes-
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:57 pm

Post by -Jes- »

The AIs aren't in any way related to difficulty, but rather unit preferences and attack force sizes.

The two other names are just random, similar sounding names.

scouby999
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 9:28 am

Re: Dune 2K's AI difficulty?

Post by scouby999 »

Hello everyone, and thank you for welcoming me among you.

First of all, thank you to everyone who keeps this game (Dune 2000) running flawlessly today.

I am 45 years old, and played at the time in Dune 2 which I loved. I don't think I played Dune 2000, but maybe (my mind is confused a bit ...).

I have questions for you regarding the difficulty of the game.

I play alone, in "missions" mode.

On the Dune 2000 version of "GruntMods" in normal mode with Harkonen, I get to level 7 without too much difficulty.

On the OpenRA version, in easy mode, slow speed, I passed level 4. I failed miserably on all the following missions despite several attempts and watching videos of people who succeeded in "hard" ...

Can you tell me if the OpenRA version has a higher difficulty than the original even on easy or is it just me following bad?

Sorry for the language, I'm using a translator ...

abcdefg30
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: Dune 2K's AI difficulty?

Post by abcdefg30 »

Hi, the OpenRA missions might indeed be more difficult. My strategy usually is to have a lot of simple rifle men, but I don't know if that works any more.

Alien_Fromspace
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2022 6:53 pm

Re: Dune 2K's AI difficulty?

Post by Alien_Fromspace »

I am experiencing a similar situation. I played Harkonnen Level 6 which took a long time to finish. Not exactly what I remembered from the original.

I played Harkonnen level 8, several times, different tactics. It's just too difficult, even/especially on Easy.
I get attacked by enemy units very quickly and while I can take out the first few waves, a Saboteur comes by and destroys one of the few buildings I have at that point. I just don't have sufficient time to (re)build and get more structures up and running before getting swarmed by advanced units and get destroyed. The 2nd and even 3rd Saboteur are sent too quickly too, for my comfort, considering the increasingly stronger attack waves.

Training lots of Light Infantry doesn't work since the enemy starts sending out Siege Tanks which by that time I cannot destroy since my capable Tanks are destroyed by that time. I honestly don't feel like playing 30 times over to discover a way to simply stay alive long enough to get a capable base up and running, let alone take a crack at attacking the enemies.

TL;DR In its current form, I am not enjoying this version. I would plead for changing the effect of the difficulty setting, because "easy" is not easy at all. I dare not imagine how a newcomer would experience this version.

Post Reply