C&C graphics messed up 99%. RA graphics 50% broken

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Cemisti
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:55 pm

C&C graphics messed up 99%. RA graphics 50% broken

Post by Cemisti »

As the title states, C&C is unplayabe for me. In RA, I've noticed that at least trees, submarines, shock troopers, tesla tanks, badger bombers and all ballistic stuff like missiles, cannon shells and etc. won't render properly. Instead I see some random animations of stuff being blown up or infantry replacing trees and the best of all is badger bomber being replaced with 4 burning infantry. :lol:

Graphics card: Radeon 5850 with Catalyst 10.8 drivers.

Tell me, if you need more info or if this is a known bug?
Last edited by Cemisti on Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

chrisf
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:59 am

Post by chrisf »

Known issue with 64-bit Catalyst 10.8. I've heard that downgrading to 10.7 fixes the problem.

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Sleipnir »

Sounds like an interesting issue. Can you post some screenshots?

Does the game crash, or run slowly, or is everything fine aside from the graphical problems?

Cemisti
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:55 pm

Post by Cemisti »

Here are the pics. Not gonna downgrade at this points though, since the drivers gave me some nice performance boost in couple of games. RA played fine, altough at after 20 min mark the game started slowing down and crashed at 29 mins. I made a post about that on your bug tracker already though.

On another note, any support for lower resolutions than 720p or ability to zoom(like having everything appear 2x bigger or even 3x) in planned? I can't tell the infatry apart from each other on my 32" screen at 1280x720 and not really planning on getting projector any time soon. :\
Attachments
OpenRA 2010-09-09 04-23-27-83.jpg
OpenRA 2010-09-09 04-23-27-83.jpg (523.42 KiB) Viewed 11435 times
OpenRA 2010-09-09 04-22-54-14.jpg
OpenRA 2010-09-09 04-22-54-14.jpg (68.23 KiB) Viewed 11435 times

Cemisti
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:55 pm

Post by Cemisti »

So AMD didn't fix it with 10.9 drivers either, so I searched a bit and found that copying atioglxx.dll from older drivers to OpenRA directory fixed these issues. Most likely works on other older games that are using OpenGL and have their graphics messed up in the recent drivers.

beedee
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Wellington
Contact:

Post by beedee »

Glad to hear you got it fixed. Shame no one really knows why it broke.

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran »

Wow, thanks for finding a solution, Could you upload this DLL file so people who experience this issue can easily download this file?

Cemisti
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:55 pm

Post by Cemisti »

Apparently AMD broke OpenGL drivers in catalyst 10.5 that caused couple of older games using OpenGL to not function properly. Instead of fixing it, they broke it more on catalyst 10.8 and that results in what you see in the screenshots I posted earlier. Using catalyst 10.4 OpenGL drivers by placing them in the game folder makes the game use those instead of the currently installed drivers. I've also noticed some issues in other OpenGL games like Duke Nukem 3D that this fixed too.

Edit by Sleipnir: THIS ONLY WORKS IF YOU ARE RUNNING 64-BIT VISTA OR 7. IT DOES NOT WORK FOR WINDOWS XP.

Here's the link for the file. Just place it your OpenRA folder, if you are having issues with Radeon drivers.
http://www.mediafire.com/?ana6bzs3efx9ttw

Duke
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Post by Duke »

The above fix by copying in that file fixed the game for me (ATI 5850 with 10.9 drivers).

Thanks

Cemisti
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:55 pm

Post by Cemisti »

NP. To those who are wondering, this is opengl drivers for 64-bit Win7 or Vista only.

Aner1181
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:57 pm
Location: Moscow

Post by Aner1181 »

Cemisti

Thank you! Solution is work in win7 x64 on ati 5145m

beedee
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Wellington
Contact:

Post by beedee »

There is a new renderer courtesy of pchote/Sleipnir currently in our testing branch that will hopefully be in the next release. From preliminary testing it seems to fix this problem without needing the old driver DLL.

Post Reply