No sound in RA

I can not get any sound on latest stable RA

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Jono
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 10:57 pm

No sound in RA

Post by Jono »

What I have done so far :
Uninstalled and re-downloaded and reinstalled, twice, with pc restart in-between.
Searched install drive (c) for .AUD and found very very few, and no matches with some sound calls (kaboom.aud) for example.
Running core i5 , 16GB ram, windows 10, drive c is ssd (sata), on-board sound and graphics through Hdmi

Part of \\documents\openra\settings looks like this:
Sound:
SoundVolume: 1
MusicVolume: 1
VideoVolume: 1
Device: DSGi TV (Intel(R) Display Audio)

The start of this C:\Program Files\OpenRA\mods\ra\bits
has 4 .AUD files

The entire c:\ drive has a total 103 .AUD files.

Obviously I am missing something. :)
Some help would be great.

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in RA

Post by Sleipnir »

Does sound work on the playtest version? Check in the audio settings that you don't haven't accidentally muted it.

Jono
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 10:57 pm

Re: No sound in RA

Post by Jono »

Thank you , sounds great.
No, I do not think it is muted, certainly not within game, possibly somewhere else ? 3 installs ago, it WAS muted in-game and showed the speaker with line through icon.
Will get playtest version and give that a whirl.

Jono
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 10:57 pm

Re: No sound in RA

Post by Jono »

Playtest (sound ) works great.
Have not played enough to see what all the differences are yet, but sounds work great.
Thank you.

Post Reply