map making question about creep turrets and power

the map making ? is about placing creep defenses without pow

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Bruudwin
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 2:07 am

map making question about creep turrets and power

Post by Bruudwin »

Anyone know how to place creep turrets (obelisks, anti air, missile towers etc) that require power, without having to use power plants? i was told i would need to find out how to do that fancy coding a custom map.yaml.

or make a section of the map unavailable \ unviewable \ un everything to players to allow for power plants for the creep turrets to work

Yes i used the search function. granted i looked up
"creep power plant" and looked through the first 1-3 pages or so

AND LAST QUESTION!

building multiple barracks decreases infantry build time.

... so multiple mcvs = faster building !?!

abcdefg30
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Post by abcdefg30 »

Bruudwin wrote: AND LAST QUESTION!

building multiple barracks decreases infantry build time.

... so multiple mcvs = faster building !?!
To answer the easy question first: Yes, multiple Construction Yards decrease build time.
Bruudwin wrote: Anyone know how to place creep turrets (obelisks, anti air, missile towers etc) that require power, without having to use power plants? i was told i would need to find out how to do that fancy coding a custom map.yaml.

or make a section of the map unavailable \ unviewable \ un everything to players to allow for power plants for the creep turrets to work

Yes i used the search function. granted i looked up
"creep power plant" and looked through the first 1-3 pages or so
That question is answered in http://www.sleipnirstuff.com/forum/view ... 83&t=19584
The short summary: You need to duplicate the actor in yaml and remove the power requirement on the duplicate (otherwise all actors of that type require no power).

zinc
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:46 pm

Post by zinc »

So there isn't a way to just set "creep" to have infinite power?

zinc
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:46 pm

Post by zinc »

Or maybe you could duplicate a power station and set it to very high power and very high shielding, and that may do the job if you don't mind one power station somewhere on the map?

abcdefg30
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Post by abcdefg30 »

zinc wrote: So there isn't a way to just set "creep" to have infinite power?
zinc wrote: Or maybe you could duplicate a power station and set it to very high power and very high shielding, and that may do the job if you don't mind one power station somewhere on the map?
That looks to be the only method. But I think you could even have a invisible, not space consuming actor which grants power. E.g. (I didn't test it thought):

Code: Select all

PowerActor:
	AlwaysVisible:
	Power:
		Amount: 9999

Bruudwin
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 2:07 am

Post by Bruudwin »

abcdefg30 wrote:
zinc wrote: So there isn't a way to just set "creep" to have infinite power?
zinc wrote: Or maybe you could duplicate a power station and set it to very high power and very high shielding, and that may do the job if you don't mind one power station somewhere on the map?
That looks to be the only method. But I think you could even have a invisible, not space consuming actor which grants power. E.g. (I didn't test it thought):

Code: Select all

PowerActor:
	AlwaysVisible:
	Power:
		Amount: 9999
holy shit. is that what i need to use for Creep turrets so they can have tesla, anti air, obelisk, missile towers? if so thank you.

User avatar
SoScared
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:16 pm
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Post by SoScared »

If I'm not missing something here, you can also change the Bound values in the map.yaml (line 13) so that you'll have a field outside the playable area where you can place your creep power plants.

E.g.

Code: Select all

MapFormat: 11

RequiresMod: ra

Title: Name your map here

Author: Your name here

Tileset: SNOW

MapSize: 130,130

Bounds: 1,1,128,128

Code: Select all

Bounds: 4,4,125,125

Bruudwin
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 2:07 am

Post by Bruudwin »

SoScared wrote: If I'm not missing something here, you can also change the Bound values in the map.yaml (line 13) so that you'll have a field outside the playable area where you can place your creep power plants.

E.g.

Code: Select all

MapFormat: 11

RequiresMod: ra

Title: Name your map here

Author: Your name here

Tileset: SNOW

MapSize: 130,130

Bounds: 1,1,128,128

Code: Select all

Bounds: 4,4,125,125


thank you so much!

all i have left to do is... turn the map into zip. then unzip it. and a yaml file should appear is what i'm understanding from other forums with similar situations

zinc
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:46 pm

Post by zinc »

The maps are ready created as zips basically so you can unpack them, edit the yaml, then you repack them and change the name back to an "oramap" ending. I hope that's correct anyway I haven't been making maps in a few months.

Someone recommended me a good free line edit program. Ask if you need one and I will find the name of it.

Post Reply