How to change map size? Under Linux.

Dune 2000

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Post Reply
Adrian
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:44 pm

How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by Adrian »

I would like to change map size slightly (in original Dune 2000 map).
Is it possible under Linux? Under Windows?

abcdefg30
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by abcdefg30 »

Yes, that is possible using the utility (https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Utility).
If you use the AppImage on Linux you can do something like "./Dune-2000.AppImage --utility --resize-map MAPFILE WIDTH HEIGHT".

Adrian
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by Adrian »

Thank you. It works.

It is not quite MAPFILE WIDTH HEIGHT. I wrote there path to directory with map files. Not file name.

Code: Select all

./OpenRA-Dune-2000-x86_64.AppImage --utility --resize-map ~/.openra/maps/d2k/release-20200202/harkonnen-04r/ 76 94
Another problem. Bounds.
They were 2 in original map. And now bound width = 1 (after resizing).

For example.

MapSize: 74,94
Bounds: 2,2,70,90

MapSize: 76,94
Bounds: 1,1,74,92

abcdefg30
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by abcdefg30 »

Yes, you'll also have to provide the path.
As to the bounds: You can simply change those values in the map.yaml file, there should be no issue in doing that.

Adrian
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by Adrian »

Thank you.

The command resize adds new space at bottom and right.
It would be great, if to know how to make something like shift.

I mean, to shift all picture (or part) of map.
Or to add new space at top and left too.
Maybe in future releases.

User avatar
Wippie
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 12:41 pm

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by Wippie »

Place the map in the Openra utility folder to avoid typing the path. Copy paste it back after resize.

I wouldnt recommend adding space to top and left too. Map editor has sufficient tooling for workarounds

User avatar
netnazgul
Posts: 507
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:32 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by netnazgul »

Adrian wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:23 pm
Thank you.

The command resize adds new space at bottom and right.
It would be great, if to know how to make something like shift.

I mean, to shift all picture (or part) of map.
Or to add new space at top and left too.
Maybe in future releases.
For now the only possibility to do that is to copy/paste the whole map and then get rid of the leftovers. Also note, that some objects (like script waypoints or player spawns) are not copied or moved over, you need to modify them manually.

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by Sleipnir »

netnazgul wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:27 am
Also note, that some objects (like script waypoints or player spawns) are not copied or moved over, you need to modify them manually.
This has been fixed in the new/upcoming playtest.

User avatar
netnazgul
Posts: 507
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:32 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by netnazgul »

TIL :P

Adrian
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Post by Adrian »

netnazgul wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:27 am
Also note, that some objects (like script waypoints or player spawns) are not copied or moved over, you need to modify them manually.
By the way, I would like to know (earlier, before this question was asked),
how to modify waypoints position?

I found this only in map.yaml file.
I can change location here:

AtreidesEntry: waypoint
Owner: Neutral
Location: 65,53

Is it possible to change location in Map Editor ?
Drag and drop? Something else?

Post Reply