Page 1 of 1

How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:07 pm
by Adrian
I would like to change map size slightly (in original Dune 2000 map).
Is it possible under Linux? Under Windows?

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:50 am
by abcdefg30
Yes, that is possible using the utility (https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Utility).
If you use the AppImage on Linux you can do something like "./Dune-2000.AppImage --utility --resize-map MAPFILE WIDTH HEIGHT".

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:47 pm
by Adrian
Thank you. It works.

It is not quite MAPFILE WIDTH HEIGHT. I wrote there path to directory with map files. Not file name.

Code: Select all

./OpenRA-Dune-2000-x86_64.AppImage --utility --resize-map ~/.openra/maps/d2k/release-20200202/harkonnen-04r/ 76 94
Another problem. Bounds.
They were 2 in original map. And now bound width = 1 (after resizing).

For example.

MapSize: 74,94
Bounds: 2,2,70,90

MapSize: 76,94
Bounds: 1,1,74,92

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:31 pm
by abcdefg30
Yes, you'll also have to provide the path.
As to the bounds: You can simply change those values in the map.yaml file, there should be no issue in doing that.

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:23 pm
by Adrian
Thank you.

The command resize adds new space at bottom and right.
It would be great, if to know how to make something like shift.

I mean, to shift all picture (or part) of map.
Or to add new space at top and left too.
Maybe in future releases.

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:43 am
by Wippie
Place the map in the Openra utility folder to avoid typing the path. Copy paste it back after resize.

I wouldnt recommend adding space to top and left too. Map editor has sufficient tooling for workarounds

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:27 am
by netnazgul
Adrian wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:23 pm
Thank you.

The command resize adds new space at bottom and right.
It would be great, if to know how to make something like shift.

I mean, to shift all picture (or part) of map.
Or to add new space at top and left too.
Maybe in future releases.
For now the only possibility to do that is to copy/paste the whole map and then get rid of the leftovers. Also note, that some objects (like script waypoints or player spawns) are not copied or moved over, you need to modify them manually.

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:34 am
by Sleipnir
netnazgul wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:27 am
Also note, that some objects (like script waypoints or player spawns) are not copied or moved over, you need to modify them manually.
This has been fixed in the new/upcoming playtest.

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 10:44 am
by netnazgul
TIL :P

Re: How to change map size? Under Linux.

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 5:05 pm
by Adrian
netnazgul wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:27 am
Also note, that some objects (like script waypoints or player spawns) are not copied or moved over, you need to modify them manually.
By the way, I would like to know (earlier, before this question was asked),
how to modify waypoints position?

I found this only in map.yaml file.
I can change location here:

AtreidesEntry: waypoint
Owner: Neutral
Location: 65,53

Is it possible to change location in Map Editor ?
Drag and drop? Something else?