Noob trying to remake shp files [Open Source SHP Builder]

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Post Reply
User avatar
SoScared
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:16 pm
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Noob trying to remake shp files [Open Source SHP Builder]

Post by SoScared »

Image

User avatar
SoScared
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:16 pm
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Post by SoScared »

My problem is, I want to draw the turret a bit longer than the original - but I can't distinguish the black turret from the black background so I'll be struggling to get the rest of the angles right. Is there a better option to fool around with this?

I'm expanding on my pioneer project the German Medium Tank (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panzer_IV), and I want to lengthen the turret in order to distinguish it from the general Allied Medium Tank.

User avatar
Graion Dilach
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 5:57 pm

Post by Graion Dilach »

Get OS PAL Editor from the same place you get that from - or from http://www.ppmsite.com/downloads/OS_Pal ... r_1.21.exe :P - then open SHP Builder/Palettes/RA/temperat.pal and recolor color #0 to say, 255,0,255 pink or cyan. Save, restart SHP Builder.
Image
Image
Image
AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

User avatar
SoScared
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:16 pm
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Post by SoScared »

Thanks Graion!

Got a tip to just fill the black with a different color, as the turret black is different. Works but tedious. Will check out os pal editor if I want to do more of this.

User avatar
Inq
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 2:48 am

Post by Inq »

http://nyerguds.arsaneus-design.com/cnc ... als-21.zip

Use nyerguds purple color palette's when editing shps.

You can load them in shp builder; makes it easier to distinguish gun barrels from the back ground. :)

User avatar
SoScared
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:16 pm
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Post by SoScared »

thanks!

Matt
Posts: 1029
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

Maybe paint palette indexed PNGs with http://www.aseprite.org/ and convert them with OpenRA.Utility.exe?

User avatar
Graion Dilach
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 5:57 pm

Post by Graion Dilach »

Does the OpenRA utility maintains index slots when converting? I'm sticking to XCC because I know that one does (and has a GUI).
Image
Image
Image
AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Murto the Ray
Posts: 486
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:34 pm

Post by Murto the Ray »

you can design each frame in a program such as paint.net then copy and paste them into OS SHP Builder if that is easier for you.

Post Reply