[MOD] [D2K] Rounded Edges [001]

It's a D2K mod! Holly Crackers!

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
User avatar
-Jes-
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:57 pm

Post by -Jes- »

Picture 1:
Yeah, that's a tradeoff for keeping enough space at the bottom for the buildup anim, and enough on the right for the shadow.
Placed building sprites seem to be centered at their actual location, while placement sprites are aligned from the topleft.
Don't know why that is.

Picture 2:
Yes, I chose to go with selection bounds that match the actual cell size of the building. It helps when trying to control units around and especially behind buildings.
Previously they were whatever size the building sprites were.

Matt
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

I am trying to merge this with https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/pull/2457 now. I see lot's files in mods/d2k/bits. What have you changed in
  • mods/d2k/bits/barra.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/barraicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/barramake.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/barrh.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/barrhicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/barro.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/barroicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/bazook2.aud
  • mods/d2k/bits/bazooka.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/deathhandmissile.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/fire1.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/fire2.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/fire3.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/fire4.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/frigate.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/guntower.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/gunturret.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavya.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavyaicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavyc.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavyh.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavyhicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavymake.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavyo.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/heavyoicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/highmake.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/hightecha.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/hightechaicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/hightechh.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/hightechhicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/hightecho.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/hightechoicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lighta.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lightaicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lighth.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lighthicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lightmake.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lighto.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/lightoicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/palacea.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/palaceaicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/palacec.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/palacehicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/palaceo.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/palaceoicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/pwraicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/pwrhicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/pwroicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/radaraicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/radarhicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/radaroicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refa.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refaicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refh.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refhicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refmake.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refo.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/refoicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/repairicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/researchicon.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/rifle.aud
  • mods/d2k/bits/rifledeath.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/rockettower.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/rocketturret.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/turret1.aud
  • mods/d2k/bits/vulcan.aud
  • mods/d2k/bits/wall.shp
  • mods/d2k/bits/wtrpmake.shp
I only see that you added animations to the Windtrap and IX Research. The rest seems to be duplicates that I can safely delete so we don't waste bandwith when distributing it.

User avatar
-Jes-
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:57 pm

Post by -Jes- »

I added hard offsets to a lot of the graphics to get their ingame position right.
Without the selection bounds you'll find them to be huge.

Matt
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

We should change https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/blob/b ... nd.cs#L303 then to automatize this. I already fixed "--projectile" to be identical to "--vehicle" (not yet uploaded).

Matt
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

We also played a FFA on latest bleed to test the per-player shroud actually. Harvesting is now kind of too slow without auto-piloted carryall support, but I agree it was too fast earlier. Instead of removing the bibs we could simply add more rock to build on for the maps. Nuke and air strike and was a little too weak. The bullet traces look very nice and making the starport require energy to operate was a nice idea.

User avatar
-Jes-
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:57 pm

Post by -Jes- »

1: Luckily, harvesting is based on the speed of the harvest animation in sequences - to speed it up, simply decrease the tick value from 150 to perhaps 120, 100.

2: Unfortunately, I'm no mapper. The simple edit I made took several hours and retries.

3: Yeah, I went through tons of testplays trying to get the superweapons right, but alas.. In the end I just left them as they were.

4: The starport requiring power was a stroke of luck tbh. I was experimenting with power settings for various buildings, and only the starport came out working.

psydev
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:49 am

Post by psydev »

Does it seem like D2K doesn't have enough of a role for infantry?
When I played, they seemed useless. Maybe it was because I played on a big map, but it seemed they took forever to get across the map, only to die quickly. Personally I prefer not having useless units, and C&C/RA suffered from that a bit. Would some kind of troop transport (like a chinook) be appropriate for D2K?

Matt
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

Carryall might make sense if infantry transportation does not crash with desyncs as vehicle transportation currently does.

psydev
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:49 am

Post by psydev »

Perhaps a new method of infantry dropping could be invented? Maybe:

- A new, infantry-only transport unit could be introduced.
- Player could pay some money for a single-use drop pod that transports infantry across the map.
- Players could pay to have drop pods of infantry fall from the sky and land at target destination. Units would be purchased in a way similar to buying vehicles at the starport. [It would be cool if opponent got a warning message].

User avatar
-Jes-
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:57 pm

Post by -Jes- »

Oh man, didn't I make some additional stuff for this?

@Psydev

I did tinker around with the Ordos APC found on OpenRA resource. Unfortunately, it's color scheme and palette weren't easily fixable to D2K's specs.

bellator
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:22 am

Post by bellator »

I have that Ordos APC (with palet and all fixed)

Post Reply