[MOD] RA Classic - a Red Alert 1 inspired mod

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Matt
Posts: 1037
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

For anyone who wants to get his hands on something: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pwusjqfevjjr6 ... 130313.zip

I added the native Windows DLLs for your convenience. It is a build of https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA bleed branch. Throw your patches against that please.

Matt
Posts: 1037
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

I created a profile at http://www.moddb.com/mods/openra-classic to potentially test OpenRA mod distribution via Desura and see if anyone is interested in this mod after all.

xan2622
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:27 pm

Post by xan2622 »

(With some time and promotion) I am pretty sure that as soon as these "classic mods" will be added to OpenRA, this latter could become really really popular..

Thanks to OpenRA's options, testing these old games in fullscreen or windowed mode with our high resolutions is not a pain anymore.

Imagine if OpenRA featured these classic mods : OpenRA could become the simplest way for players to test old RTS games, or their derivated works : mods.

Matt
Posts: 1037
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt »

See https://github.com/OpenRA/raclassic for an effort to continue this.

camundahl
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:36 am
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas

Post by camundahl »

Thanks! I'd be interested as well. Red Alert was my first computer game, back in 1995.

User avatar
jaZz_KCS
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: Bremen

Post by jaZz_KCS »

While looking through a webfolder of uploads from a user of a retro computing forum, I stumbled upon these files..:
[ ] OpenRA_Red_Alert_Classic.zip 16-Aug-2016 22:49 1.1M
[ ] ra-classic.oramod 24-Aug-2016 01:23 1.1M
[ ] rampmaps.zip 22-Jan-2015 21:39 1.3M
The world is small.
Intriguing.
Image
RAGL -->Replay Archive<--

Alley
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:03 pm

Post by Alley »

Although it seems to be an old topic I found your project to be built in very old version yet. This isn't very stable and new OpenRA includes much more features and look. I definately would suggest you to move your project over to a new version...
I remember that the update for OpenRA caused a lot of problems to older projects but some time later I noticed that the updating is not such problem anymore because probably there have been made some things to be more comfortable already. :) I just need to move files over to a new release folder and those are then ready to run. So you probably would have just a trouble in moving over once. But how much more you update your project for an old version so much you also need to make those updates compatible to a new version later. I really suggest to move your project over to run it in a new OpenRA. :)

CatGirls420
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:59 am
Location: Catia

Post by CatGirls420 »

Meow this is something I can get behind. I'll help test and code!

camundahl
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:36 am
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas

Post by camundahl »

It would probably bring a lot of CNCnet RA1 players into the scene!

Post Reply