OpenRA : Renegade

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
User avatar
hamb
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:57 pm

Post by hamb » Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:19 pm

We had a 2v2 playtest of OpenRG last night:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dUqOiUwmmg (As GDI, 6 mins)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npeKQnfZy7U (As Nod, 10 mins)

The Nod one is probably a bit better to watch.

At about five minutes into the Nod video, max & I drop nukes in the GDI base. As Gecko stated, some of the buildings end up in a 'destroyed' state, so basic purchases are still available from that structure. Hope we can get at least 6 or 8 players for the next vid.

Apologies for no sound, next time we should have some.

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by Gecko » Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:04 pm

At the same time you nuked us, we ion cannon'd you - good times :D

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by Gecko » Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:38 am

The new lobby GUI : Image

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Sleipnir » Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:02 am

Looking good!

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:45 am

nice, especially the oversized buildings on the shellmap. :P

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

Ability system

Post by Gecko » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:40 pm

I'm using the GUI from the 'Support Power' (nuke / ion / ...) system to implement

Abilities!

For a start I moved the beacon placing system to it AND implemented a mine laying ability.

Image
Image

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by Gecko » Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:24 am

FYI : OpenRg is far from dead

I mostly worked past days on a spectator mode, 'semi' dedicated server support (no midgame joining though) and I just finished applying the changes needed to OpenRg :)

Also, I switched to a greenish ra-dialog :P
Image

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

As a proof that OpenRg is not dead!

Post by Gecko » Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:01 am

Here a video of me testing the 'sniper gui'

Low FPS since I only have a netbook :/
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6J2FhDFaAVQ

User avatar
Harisson
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:03 pm

Post by Harisson » Sun Nov 07, 2010 1:27 pm

Woooow, nice :) .
What are you going to do with tihis big buildings?

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by Gecko » Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:35 pm

The scaling of them is just to make them appear more size-realistic

User avatar
Harisson
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:03 pm

Post by Harisson » Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:50 pm

yeah, but this buildings are very pixelate.
I have idea... Can you use Renegade buildings ?

Gecko
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by Gecko » Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:17 am

Harisson wrote: yeah, but this buildings are very pixelate.
I have idea... Can you use Renegade buildings ?
No.

raminator
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:31 pm
Location: Stuttgart

Post by raminator » Mon Nov 08, 2010 7:20 am

why not...you only need them to convert to shp via 3dsm and 2 scripts for importing and rendering...

User avatar
Harisson
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:03 pm

Post by Harisson » Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:41 pm

Yes, with your tools raminator :) .

OT: Raminator, how I can create new units with using your tools ? With your tools I can only render North/West/South/East sides and shadows arent green as in RA.

raminator
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:31 pm
Location: Stuttgart

Post by raminator » Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:13 pm

you need to rotate thee camera and shadows via keyframes or rotate the model itself...

btw i created a new version of tis script...will upload it soon and add some blank file with rotating camera and shadow

Post Reply