OpenRA and Apple M1

Getting information whether or not OpenRA will be compatible with Apple M1 processors

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Mortov Molotov
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

OpenRA and Apple M1

Post by Mortov Molotov »

Hi everyone,

After doing a little search on this forum, I don't think that the future for OpenRA via macOs has been addressed yet (or maybe I really missed it).

Anyway, with the switch of Apple to ARM in mind, my questions are these:

1. Will OpenRA be compatible via Rosetta2?
2. Is a universal binary easy to develop? What about the switch to .NET 5?
3. And if so, are there any concrete plans in that direction?


Thank you very much for your time & effort

Kind regards

Mortov Molotov

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 852
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: OpenRA and Apple M1

Post by Sleipnir »

1. M1 hardware has been available for a couple of months now, and I haven't seen any reports of problems. This probably means it is working fine under Rosetta.
2. .NET5 doesn't support universal binaries, but this appears to be planned for .NET6 later in 2021.
3. We'll do what we can, but can't plan much without the runtime support or M1 hardware to test with.

dote11
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: OpenRA and Apple M1

Post by dote11 »

I have a MacBook Air with the M1 and Open RA works fine. I have played a couple games and haven't had any issues so far.

Post Reply