What the heck does a Technology Center do?

Seriously, though, what?

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
JaKeizRiPiN

What the heck does a Technology Center do?

Post by JaKeizRiPiN »

Alright, so i get the just behind neutral buildings, like the bio lab, which lets you produce zombies and ants, as well as being capturable. But, I have no idea what a technology center does, and I cannot capture it. From what I understand, you can also get a hospital and a forward command center, what do those do? Sorry, I'm a noob. Thanks.

FiveAces

Post by FiveAces »

As of now, the Forward Command and Technology Center don't do anything at all, while the Hospital gives your infantry health regeneration over time.

Oh wait, the Forward Command _does_ do something: It drains you of 200 power :p

squirrel

Post by squirrel »

Using notepad++ and modifying the yaml. file of your map (save as unpacked) you can set the Technology Center and the Forward Command to make it capturable with engineers or by only pushing your units nearby (King of the Hill maps), it´s used for modmaps or nice powerups for some maps.

-Jes-

Post by -Jes- »

Well the Technology Center was used in TibDawn and RA mainly in missions as insert-important-building-here that needed to be secured or destroyed.

It didn't exactly do much beyond that in the original games either.

jaymanxyz

Post by jaymanxyz »

-Jes- wrote: It didn't exactly do much beyond that in the original games either.
Which is a shame because the art for the buildings is quite nice in my opinion, and the Technology Center did have its own cameo if I remember correctly.

SMIFFGIG

Post by SMIFFGIG »

jaymanxyz wrote: and the Technology Center did have its own cameo if I remember correctly.
Fan made cameo, taken and edited from ingame FMV capture.
The un-offical addon for Tiberian Sun

Noebuhdy

Post by Noebuhdy »