Crash on start up

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Duke
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Crash on start up

Post by Duke »

Hi,

I've got two systems I'm getting crashing on. The first one below is a new one, first time I've installed OpenRA on and is Windows 7 32bit with VIA/S3 IGP graphics (is it just a case it doens't support that?):

Log from exception file:

System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.InvalidProgramException: Unsupported GPU. OpenRA requires the GL_ARB_vertex_shader and GL_ARB_fragment_shader extensions.
at OpenRA.Renderer.Glsl.GraphicsDevice..ctor(Int32 width, Int32 height, WindowMode window, Boolean vsync)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.RuntimeMethodHandle._InvokeConstructor(Object[] args, SignatureStruct& signature, IntPtr declaringType)
at System.RuntimeMethodHandle.InvokeConstructor(Object[] args, SignatureStruct signature, RuntimeTypeHandle declaringType)
at System.Reflection.RuntimeConstructorInfo.Invoke(BindingFlags invokeAttr, Binder binder, Object[] parameters, CultureInfo culture)
at OpenRA.Graphics.Renderer.CreateDevice(Assembly rendererDll, Int32 width, Int32 height, WindowMode window, Boolean vsync)
at OpenRA.Graphics.Renderer.Initialize(WindowMode windowMode)
at OpenRA.Game.Initialize(Arguments args)
at OpenRA.Program.Run(String[] args)
at OpenRA.Program.Main(String[] args)

Duke
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Post by Duke »

And on this second PC (laptop) it used to run perfect until this new version released today, which gives the log below (crashes right away):


System.InvalidOperationException: GL Error: 1282
at OpenRA.Renderer.Glsl.GraphicsDevice.CheckGlError()
at OpenRA.Renderer.Glsl.Shader..ctor(GraphicsDevice dev, String type)
at OpenRA.Renderer.Glsl.GraphicsDevice.CreateShader(String name)
at OpenRA.Graphics.Renderer..ctor()
at OpenRA.Game.Initialize(Arguments args)
at OpenRA.Program.Run(String[] args)
at OpenRA.Program.Main(String[] args)


Windows 7 32bit bit with Intel 4 series graphics.

chrisf
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:59 am

Post by chrisf »

Edit Documents/OpenRA/settings.yaml and change (or add) `Renderer: Cg` in the Graphics section.

Alternatively, check for newer drivers. There's *no* reason your GPU can't handle this, other than incomplete drivers.

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Sleipnir »

The first error is straightforward "Unsupported GPU. OpenRA requires the GL_ARB_vertex_shader and GL_ARB_fragment_shader extensions.": The graphics card and/or drivers don't implement the OpenGL shader language which the new renderer requires.

The second error is more interesting. It means that, while the card is capable, something unexpected happened while initializing the graphics system.

Both of these issues can potentially be fixed by installing the latest graphics drivers from the vendor websites (NOT windows update), and I will add some extra debugging info to the next release to help identify these problems better.

Duke
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Post by Duke »

I'll give it a try and report back :)

rawdod
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:45 pm

Post by rawdod »

I'm getting the same thing on ubuntu 10.10 with the latest nvidia drivers.

[oneman@blacktower::~/Desktop]$ openra
Loading settings file /home/oneman/.openra/settings.yaml
Using Gl renderer

Unhandled Exception: System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
at OpenRA.Renderer.Glsl.GraphicsDevice..ctor (Int32 width, Int32 height, WindowMode window, Boolean vsync) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at (wrapper managed-to-native) System.Reflection.MonoCMethod:InternalInvoke (object,object[],System.Exception&)
at System.Reflection.MonoCMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.Reflection.MonoCMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at System.Reflection.MonoCMethod.Invoke (BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at System.Reflection.ConstructorInfo.Invoke (System.Object[] parameters) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Graphics.Renderer.CreateDevice (System.Reflection.Assembly rendererDll, Int32 width, Int32 height, WindowMode window, Boolean vsync) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Graphics.Renderer.Initialize (WindowMode windowMode) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Game.Initialize (OpenRA.Arguments args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Program.Run (System.String[] args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Program.Main (System.String[] args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
[oneman@blacktower::~/Desktop]$ nano ~/.openra/
Logs/ settings.yaml
[oneman@blacktower::~/Desktop]$ nano ~/.openra/settings.yaml
[oneman@blacktower::~/Desktop]$ openra
Loading settings file /home/oneman/.openra/settings.yaml
Using Cg renderer

Unhandled Exception: System.InvalidOperationException: No valid techniques
at OpenRA.Renderer.Cg.Shader..ctor (OpenRA.Renderer.Cg.GraphicsDevice dev, System.String name) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Renderer.Cg.GraphicsDevice.CreateShader (System.String name) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Graphics.Renderer..ctor () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Game.Initialize (OpenRA.Arguments args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Program.Run (System.String[] args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenRA.Program.Main (System.String[] args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

rawdod
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:45 pm

Post by rawdod »

Opps did not see the post in the FAQ about compiz

it works now

Maybe hack around there bug if possible even if its there fault its wacked? compiz isn't the final solution on linux anyway, but it is on everyones computer..

rawdod
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:45 pm

Post by rawdod »

*puts asshat on*

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Sleipnir »

We will be landing the new linux launcher hopefully within a week or so. The launcher will be able to do detect if compiz is running and alert the user, or if possible, disable it while the game is running.

Duke
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Post by Duke »

The updated graphics fixed the laptop btw, thanks. I'm going to source an old agp graphics card for the desktop.

Post Reply