Problems installing on Fedora (Transaction Error)

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
Aidanc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:40 pm

Problems installing on Fedora (Transaction Error)

Post by Aidanc »

Hi Guys,

When I attempt to use the rpm package I get the following

openra-20101107.2-1.noarch requires freetype2
openra-20101107.2-1.noarch requires cg
openra-20101107.2-1.noarch requires Mesa

Problem is I don't actually know what these packages are... what should I be looking for?

beedee
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Wellington
Contact:

Post by beedee »

It's an unfortunate fact that RPM based systems all have different names for their packages, I can't fix this without installing a copy of Fedora myself and distributing a separate RPM for it.

Aidanc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:40 pm

Post by Aidanc »

I have no problem building and maintaining a Fedora package for you guys, I've attempted to do so and gotten the following...



[root@Cookiemonster rpm]# sudo rpmbuild -bb --clean openra.spec
Executing(%build): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.oHla4i
+ umask 022
+ cd /root/rpmbuild/BUILD
+ LANG=C
+ export LANG
+ unset DISPLAY
+ exit 0
Executing(%install): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.KKuBFp
+ umask 022
+ cd /root/rpmbuild/BUILD
+ '[' /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386 '!=' / ']'
+ rm -rf /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
++ dirname /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
+ mkdir -p /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT
+ mkdir /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
+ LANG=C
+ export LANG
+ unset DISPLAY
+ rm -rf /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
+ cp -r ROOT_DIR /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
cp: cannot stat `ROOT_DIR': No such file or directory
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.KKuBFp (%install)


RPM build errors:
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.KKuBFp (%install)


Any idea how I'd fix that?

__________________________________-

EDIT

I've fixed the above by putting a $ infront of ROOT_DIR but now I'm getting the followng...


aidan@Cookiemonster:~/OpenRA/OpenRA-OpenRA-76956f6/packaging/linux/rpm$ sudo rpmbuild -bb --clean openra.spec
Executing(%build): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.UmyEeT
+ umask 022
+ cd /root/rpmbuild/BUILD
+ LANG=C
+ export LANG
+ unset DISPLAY
+ exit 0
Executing(%install): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.OUYs7b
+ umask 022
+ cd /root/rpmbuild/BUILD
+ '[' /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386 '!=' / ']'
+ rm -rf /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
++ dirname /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
+ mkdir -p /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT
+ mkdir /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
+ LANG=C
+ export LANG
+ unset DISPLAY
+ rm -rf /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
+ cp -r /root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386
cp: missing destination file operand after `/root/rpmbuild/BUILDROOT/openra-VERSION_FIELD-1.i386'
Try `cp --help' for more information.
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.OUYs7b (%install)


RPM build errors:
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.OUYs7b (%install)


it appears 'root' is turning to nothing and so there's no source dir for it to copy from... Any idea how I'd fix that?

________________________

Another edit!

Right, so I've determined root seems to be something I have to define in the building.. what is that meant to be?

Aidanc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:40 pm

Post by Aidanc »

Okay! nevermind all of the above.. I see the sh script does it.. but what are the arguments meant to be? I've fixed all of the dependency issues and now it's just a matter of building the rpm!

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by Sleipnir »

The package scripts are designed to be run from the main source dir by `./packaging/package-all.sh <version tag> <output dir for the built packages`. Normally, this would be called automatically from the checkout-and-build script, where the version would be a git tag, but calling it manually with any string for the version works.

This will attempt to build all the packages, so you may want to edit packaging/package-all.sh and packaging/linux/buildpackage.sh to disable the other platforms.

If you can let us know the proper deps for fedora, we'll build it into the scripts for the next release.

Aidanc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:40 pm

Post by Aidanc »

The only package that requires renaming is mesa -> mesa-dri-drivers-experimental . cg is just the cg_toolkit (Nvidia thingy!) and then freetype2 is installed by on every machine which has X installed so it's not really required as a dependancy but in fedora its just freetype not freetype2

beedee
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Wellington
Contact:

Post by beedee »

cg will probably be removed as a dependency anyway as the new default renderer doesn't use it.

Post Reply