different faction selection besides scroll menu possible?

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Post Reply
User avatar
Zeruel87
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:18 pm

different faction selection besides scroll menu possible?

Post by Zeruel87 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:30 pm

Greetings,

i wonder if it is possible to change the faction selection from 1 drop down menu with a scrollbar to for example a dropdownmenu with 2 rows and/or without a scrollbar.
iam a modmaker and my mod features so many factions that the scrollbar is getting very long.

i think i found regarding settings in the "lobby-players.yaml" but i have no clue in what language or so these settings are written or if it is possible to archieve what i imagine. :?
Check out my CnC mod at:
https://www.moddb.com/mods/cameo

User avatar
Sleipnir
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: different faction selection besides scroll menu possible?

Post by Sleipnir » Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:26 am

Yes, but you will need to include custom C# code as part of your mod.

User avatar
Zeruel87
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: different faction selection besides scroll menu possible?

Post by Zeruel87 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:30 am

oh okay, i have no idea how to do that or where to even start looking how to do that. (besides to look how C# works and how it is written)

Is it also only possible with a custom C# code to make the dropdown Menu for the faction choosing bigger?
Check out my CnC mod at:
https://www.moddb.com/mods/cameo

User avatar
Zeruel87
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: different faction selection besides scroll menu possible?

Post by Zeruel87 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:35 pm

i dont know if this is a stupid question or not.
my understanding of C# is limited to say the least, is it possible to change at least the size of the dropdown menus anywhere like in .cs files?
i'am just experimenting with .cs files for another reason regarding the loading screen that is hardcoded in the CncLoadScreen.cs and wondered if the dropdown menug sizes could at least be changed in a similar way.
Check out my CnC mod at:
https://www.moddb.com/mods/cameo

User avatar
Zeruel87
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: different faction selection besides scroll menu possible?

Post by Zeruel87 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:15 pm

FOUND IT :)

in the "LobbyUtils.cs" in the Line 197: dropdown.ShowDropDown("FACTION_DROPDOWN_TEMPLATE", 154, options, setupItem);
Check out my CnC mod at:
https://www.moddb.com/mods/cameo

Post Reply