adding VoxelUnits in OpenRA?

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Post Reply
bodomalo
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 pm

adding VoxelUnits in OpenRA?

Post by bodomalo » Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:28 pm

This describes how to add a Voxel Uni:
https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/A ... nit-ingame

Is this still working in the latest OpenRA versions?

Code: Select all

VoxelSequences:
	cncred|sequences/voxels.yaml
I receive first this error:
Exception of type `System.IO.InvalidDataException`: `VoxelSequences` is not a valid mod manifest entry.

So I have put it under normal Sequences
Later the game crashes with:
Exception of type `System.InvalidOperationException`: Unit `wini` does not have a sequence named `idle`


I have copied wini.vox and wini.hva into my bits directory...
and added the tibsun palette unittem.pal to the game

User avatar
MustaphaTR
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:38 am
Location: Kastamonu, Turkey

Post by MustaphaTR » Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:59 pm

I think you need this too: https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/blob/b ... .yaml#L247

Gen1 mods has it set to PlaceholderModelSequence, change it to VoxelModelSequence.

bodomalo
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 pm

Post by bodomalo » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:02 pm

MustaphaTR wrote: I think you need this too: https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/blob/b ... .yaml#L247

Gen1 mods has it set to PlaceholderModelSequence, change it to VoxelModelSequence.
Correct, this solved the first error.

Hm, still my unit does not have a idle sequence after produced- crash.

Is it not enough to place the *.vxl and *.hva file into BITS directory?

It seems they are either not found.
Or the sequence in vehicles.yaml overrules the idle sequence in voxels.yaml

bodomalo
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:35 pm

Post by bodomalo » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:28 pm

Oh, I found my "mistake"

I had to remove some "WithRenderSpritesBody" and all that stuff the vehicle inherits from "vehicle" first.

It is a little bit complicated to mix shp and voxel units if you do not start from scratch, as everything is inherited for "sprites" first....

Post Reply