[RA][Semi-TC] CnC: Crisis

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

[RA][Semi-TC] CnC: Crisis

Post by secret » Tue Jan 01, 2013 7:26 pm


Current world situation

Image

Green - Conservative Alliance
Red - The Internationale
Black - Kollektive Verantwortung der Abwehr (or KoVAr, Ko.V.Ar., the Collective, or how you like to call it.)


Welcome back commander. Its not the same situation as it was in the past, is it? You're probably asking where's Stalin? Well, it seems he died in 1917. Yet where is Hitler? As well, dead in 1929. What happened to the Soviet Union? Apparently, there was only a temporary war against the national movements back in the early 20's, yet the communists never came to power. Then what happened?

Current year is 1946, and no major wars have occurred until now. Yet things are changing.

Image
The Internationale.

The mighty Russian State was shattered by the 1917 Revolution and the chaos left after the unstable State had to fight a war against the Eastern European states. However, it didn't loose as it was supposed to loose after the peace of Brest-Litovsk. The Socialist-Revolutionaries are staying in Power, and a international alliance ("The Internationale") has been created, with a Socialist Indian Republic by its side together with a increasingly close France and Mexico.

Image
The Conservative Alliance

The former Entente - divided by the new turn in which France joined the Internationale - is now The Conservative Alliance, made out of either monarchies, either autocratic states. Whilst it seems like the most democratic alliance, it is not: Their states might have titles such as "Constitutional Monarchies", or "Presidential Republic", but don't let yourself fooled.

Image
Ko.V.Ar.

Die Kollektive Verantwortung der Abwehr (Ko.V.Ar.) is probably the most militaristic alliance of the above. Whilst it is the most advanced military alliance, it can be criticized for being made out of irredentist interests and megalomaniac leaders. Its main powerhouse, Germany, currently ruled by a military junta seems to be arming for war. Its main military supporters are Brazil and China.

This Commander, is all I can inform you of. You'd better prepare for war.


****
Right, now passing over the storyline, I've got a tiny issue here. I removed ALL buildup entries in sequence.yaml in the game, yet I get crashes when I do this. I tried putting 0 at the as the end of the buildup sequence (0-0) yet that doesn't work as well. Any suggestions? Is there anything I am missing?
Last edited by secret on Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [RA][Semi-TC] CnC: Crisis mod thread

Post by Matt » Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:20 pm

secret wrote: I removed ALL buildup entries in sequence.yaml in the game, yet I get crashes when I do this. I tried putting 0 at the as the end of the buildup sequence (0-0) yet that doesn't work as well. Any suggestions? Is there anything I am missing?
Don't mess with sequences.yaml, but add HasMakeAnimation: false to RenderBuilding: in rules/defaults.yaml (compare how ^Wall: does it) to get the effect you want to achieve.

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Re: [RA][Semi-TC] CnC: Crisis mod thread

Post by secret » Tue Jan 01, 2013 10:29 pm

Cmd. Matt wrote:
secret wrote: I removed ALL buildup entries in sequence.yaml in the game, yet I get crashes when I do this. I tried putting 0 at the as the end of the buildup sequence (0-0) yet that doesn't work as well. Any suggestions? Is there anything I am missing?
Don't mess with sequences.yaml, but add HasMakeAnimation: false to RenderBuilding: in rules/defaults.yaml (compare how ^Wall: does it) to get the effect you want to achieve.
So sequences.yaml doesn't act like some sort of artmd.ini?
I see.
But what happens if I have a new unit I want to add? Don't I need some entries there and some other entries at, let's say, weapons.yaml?(or at least some modifications).

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:46 pm

Yes, it does, but you can't require make animations in rules and remove the needed sequences. Read the https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Modding-Guide as well as https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/T ... umentation and complain at https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/issues/2437 if this is not enough.

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Post by secret » Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:43 pm

Thanks for the tips. Sorry, I haven't paid attention lately to the community here.

Anyways, some work on the UI:
Image

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Post by secret » Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:43 pm

bumped with images of the Conservative Alliance' and Collective's sidebars.

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Post by secret » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:22 pm

Small question: OS SHP Builder seems to be failing utterly when saving my SHPs in TD format (with RA1 palette,ofcourse). So does XCC Mixer.

Are there any other converters around the community so that I can convert my work?...

Also, is there a way to create side-specific graphic for let's say, the CY?

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:58 pm

Have a look at https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Pixelart The current way is to create PNGs (painting, render) and convert them with our command-line tools. Yes, that is not very comfortable: https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/issues/2532

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Post by secret » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:40 pm

Matt, you're the king, thanks. :D

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Post by secret » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:42 pm

Right, another question I have:

Is it possible to import SHP (TS) format in OpenRA? I know this will be slightly messy, but I think it's much more productive for a semi-TC.

Thing is, SHP Builder allows me to do repetitive actions.

As far as I remember, KatzSmile did this a while ago: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IzPWJYWtV_c

and I have also read this:

https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/P ... and-Remaps

However this was a test thing. Was it implemented?

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:03 am

In fact I also care about https://github.com/katzsmile/OpenRA because of the SHPViewer which is sadly Windows only and the SHP(TS) format is of course also interesting. Will try to rebase and fix it up, but it might take some time as the code is >2 years old and most likely heavily bit-rotted.

Scott_NZ
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:09 am

Post by Scott_NZ » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:11 am

What makes you think it's Windows only? I can't see anything in there which would make it not work on Linux.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sat Jan 19, 2013 2:58 pm

Scott_NZ wrote: What makes you think it's Windows only? I can't see anything in there which would make it not work on Linux.
http://www.sleipnirstuff.com/forum/view ... 83&t=15785

User avatar
secret
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:53 pm

Post by secret » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:01 pm

Cmd. Matt wrote: In fact I also care about https://github.com/katzsmile/OpenRA because of the SHPViewer which is sadly Windows only and the SHP(TS) format is of course also interesting. Will try to rebase and fix it up, but it might take some time as the code is >2 years old and most likely heavily bit-rotted.
I think this feature might attract some new modders, seriously. For me it's already a step forward a TC.
I'll try whatever is there and for the moment I'll post renderings of buildings. :)

Matt, is there any way I could help you?

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:02 pm

secret wrote: Matt, is there any way I could help you?
Fix up https://github.com/Mailaender/OpenRA/compare/shpviewer It crashes hard with native stacktrace on Mono and only builds with many compiler warnings. There are also some parts of the codes where exceptions are simply catched and swallowed. This needs lot's of work to make it's way through Chris' code review into OpenRA.

Post Reply