[MOD] RA Classic - a Red Alert 1 inspired mod

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Zeus
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:24 pm

Post by Zeus » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:08 pm

Is there anyway to get our hands on what is currently available on the Github? I'm not a programmer so compiling isn't an option for me. Thanks in advance.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:52 pm

The patch review and playtest release process is indeed kinda slow. Have fun with https://www.dropbox.com/s/yto40a5qzh168 ... -02-20.zip It is a compilation of all classic gameplay related additions awaiting to be merged into OpenRA. The artwork problems indicate that this is far from release quality.

Zeus
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:24 pm

Post by Zeus » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:25 pm

That link provides a file that's only 30K in size. Was it compressed correctly?

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:32 pm

Is the file you downloaded a .html file... then you probably know what went wrong.

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by BaronOfStuff » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:53 pm

Crashed for me after building an Ore Refinery...

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:42 am

BaronOfStuff wrote: Crashed for me after building an Ore Refinery...
Can't reproduce that. Might be something else happening. A look at the exception.log would have been helpful.
Attachments
wrong-crate.png
What I noticed is that the ocean looks awful in converted maps and it spawns the land crates on water.
wrong-crate.png (3.18 KiB) Viewed 5232 times

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by BaronOfStuff » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:47 am

Turns out it wasn't the Ore Refinery, but the GPS Satellite. From exception.log:

Code: Select all

Exception of type `System.InvalidOperationException`: Actor does not have trait of type `OpenRA.Mods.RA.HiddenUnderFog`
   at OpenRA.TraitDictionary.TraitContainer`1.Get(UInt32 actor)
   at OpenRA.TraitDictionary.Get[T](Actor actor)
   at OpenRA.Actor.Trait[T]()
   at OpenRA.Mods.RA.Effects.GpsDot.Tick(World world)
   at OpenRA.World.<Tick>m__88&#40;IEffect e&#41;
   at OpenRA.WorldUtils.<DoTimed>c__AnonStorey2A`1.<>m__5C&#40;T x&#41;
   at OpenRA.Exts.Do&#91;T&#93;&#40;IEnumerable`1 e, Action`1 fn&#41;
   at OpenRA.WorldUtils.DoTimed&#91;T&#93;&#40;IEnumerable`1 e, Action`1 a, String text, Double time&#41;
   at OpenRA.World.Tick&#40;&#41;
   at OpenRA.Game.Tick&#40;OrderManager orderManager&#41;
   at OpenRA.Game.Tick&#40;OrderManager orderManager, Viewport viewPort&#41;
   at OpenRA.Game.Run&#40;&#41;
   at OpenRA.Program.Run&#40;String&#91;&#93; args&#41;
   at OpenRA.Program.Main&#40;String&#91;&#93; args&#41;
I'd most likely just built an Ore Refinery as the GPS took effect.

Zeus
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:24 pm

Post by Zeus » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:50 am

Download link is working from my other PC. It did, in fact, download a .zip file the first time. Not sure what caused that.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:56 pm

You downloaded the page with the download button and saved it as a .zip file.

Dan9550
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:31 pm

Post by Dan9550 » Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:58 am

What I noticed is that the ocean looks awful in converted maps and it spawns the land crates on water.
Cmd. Matt, That wouldn't be one of the many maps i converted would it?

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:24 am

It was a converted map, but the problem might be somewhere else. Both the similar looking water tiles next to each other and land crate on water.

By the way. Does anyone know where to find the code of the OpenRA modifications presented here https://vimeo.com/36438507? He already implemented some wanted legacy features including the two-pane side-bar and game options.

PS: The creator of the video answered and kindly shared their code https://www.dropbox.com/s/nf0kck2i6145a ... tDance.zip although it is an old git repository and full of compiler warnings we might be able to re-use some parts like classic engineer behavior and vertical two pane layout.

Kathreinerle
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:06 am

Post by Kathreinerle » Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:44 pm

Nice to see progress is going on again :)
good work here !

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:50 am

I merged both classic-ra and classic-cnc together: https://github.com/Mailaender/OpenRA/co ... assic-mods It is rebased onto latest bleed now and I added the classic engineer game-rules https://github.com/Mailaender/OpenRA/co ... faf2b411f1 Making the fog-of-war optional needs a rethink because target calculation now depend on it since we added per-player shrouds. This might desync if we simply turn off the renderer. A float based build speed modifier might also create new desyncs and requires redo. Can't get the https://github.com/TM-PD/FirstDance/blo ... eWidget.cs to work because it is heavily bit-rotted.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:53 pm

https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/issues/2740 is the current task and wishlist.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:21 am

Added the thief and https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/pull/2741 has been merged into bleed. Will add this to the installer distributions once the GUIs are done. Currently only allies chrome is only slightly reskinned and the cnc-classic chrome is bit-rotted.
Attachments
cnc-classic-artifacts.png
ugly artifacts in the C&amp;C classic chrome
cnc-classic-artifacts.png (70.85 KiB) Viewed 4819 times

Post Reply