[MOD] RA Classic - a Red Alert 1 inspired mod

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:33 pm

Uploaded the first alpha here, expect many bugs and crashes!

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/21865790/RA%20 ... ha%201.zip

Your feedback and bug reports are appreciated.

BenjaminLSR
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 3:26 pm

Post by BenjaminLSR » Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:37 pm

but my AI is a bit more complicated, e.g. it uses ships and every unit is added to all kinds of different 'squads' which have their own roles and behavior.
but my AI is a bit more complicated
my AI
Are you serious here ?

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:02 pm

Huh?

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by BaronOfStuff » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:08 pm

Setting down a Radar Dome made the game explode.

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:49 pm

What do you mean with that? Did the game crash after you placed one? Could you paste the content of exception.log in your my documents\openRA\Logs folder if this is the case?

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by BaronOfStuff » Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:07 pm

I think it was something to do with the minimap, but I can't be sure; for some unfortunate reason, the usual logs aren't even detailing this crash (instead still displaying a previous and unrelated error for missing sequences).

It could also be related to the AI, but that's all the (not very helpful) help I can offer.

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:27 pm

I'm gonna assume that means it was a one time crash? That sucks. :/

Thanks for reporting.

Matt
Posts: 1024
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:25 pm

Valkirie wrote:
but my AI is a bit more complicated, e.g. it uses ships and every unit is added to all kinds of different 'squads' which have their own roles and behavior.
but my AI is a bit more complicated
my AI
Are you serious here ?
I also forked your https://github.com/Mailaender/OpenRA/tree/improved-ai as I might try to fix the d2k and cnc mod. We might still either send a pull request to your repository or clean it up to get it into mainline OpenRA. You should add yourself to AUTHORS to get properly attributed and understand that the GPL means you will get edited mercilessly ;)

Still you should have not removed the complete git version history so we can't compare your changes and those namespace changes create a lot of duplicated code. The rebranding to either BetaAI or IranAI is counter-productive if we want to merge this back into mainline OpenRA. For the classic mod you should reuse OpenRA.RA.dll where possible otherwise this will become a nightmare to upgrade. Have a look at the d2k mod. I just changed few parts and load multiple DLLs.

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:32 pm

I've been playing around with some speed changes and UI (mostly sidebar changes), I got to tweak a bunch of stuff and the power bar is bugged over badly, the sidebar is starting to resemble the RA2 one.

And I've also been doing a few code changes here and there, a major one is making projectiles target a location on the map instead of hooming targets. This logic isn't applied to aircrafts.

I might have to investigate some changes to the internal FPS/tick rate, I've been getting the feeling the game is a tad laggy. One thing chrsf mentioned a week or so ago is that the scrolling code when touching the edge of the screen isn't as smooth as middle mouse scroll.

Matt
Posts: 1024
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:46 am

I just found https://code.google.com/p/openredalert/ which is exactly what you try to do: an exact replica. It even reads the data from .INI files and also runs natively without .NET virtual machines. It is however not as mature as OpenRA and looks pretty unmaintained. Latest SVN snapshot did compile however.

As this goes to back to 2004 with http://freecnc.org I wonder why OpenRA was even started instead of contributing to the earlier attempts. Just another case for the NIH Syndrome?
Attachments
soviet1.png
It even runs the singleplayer missions. Most of the UI is not responsive. There are no bibs and the AI does nothing.
soviet1.png (170.42 KiB) Viewed 4901 times
openredalert.png
Mimics the original interface very closely and even starts with the intro movie.
openredalert.png (305.64 KiB) Viewed 4901 times

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by BaronOfStuff » Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:26 pm

I have a version of OpenRedAlert (from before I found this project), and it usually crashes horribly after a few minutes.

Nice attempt at keeping the original look and feel of the game though, maybe bits of it can be re-used for this mod.

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:33 pm

A video showing some of the stuff I have now:


Matt
Posts: 1024
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:48 am

Not spammy enough yet :P compare to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBgBqXQyRSE while I can't understand why anyone likes to play this. It is really tank-rush only.

User avatar
BaronOfStuff
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:25 pm

Post by BaronOfStuff » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:22 pm

Cmd. Matt wrote: Not spammy enough yet :P compare to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBgBqXQyRSE while I can't understand why anyone likes to play this. It is really tank-rush only.
I abhor that map and all the others like it. I can't understand how that sort of thing took off in popularity, it really is nothing but rushes on crap, flat terrain. See also the "NSC" series of maps. Horrible.

FLy1nRabBit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:39 pm

Post by FLy1nRabBit » Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:43 pm

So hows the progress? :)

Post Reply