RA2 in OpenRA ?

I just want to know if its possible at all...

Information and discussion for custom maps and mods.
Post Reply
brenybear
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:32 pm

RA2 in OpenRA ?

Post by brenybear » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:35 pm

Well i want to know if its possible , i mean the Engines not that different , It still uses Shp's but also uses Voxels , i believe thats 2.5D engine , would that be too hard to implement into a mod or am i wasting my time?

chrisf
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:59 am

Post by chrisf » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:28 am

You'd need to do a lot of work, but it's certainly possible.

raminator
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:31 pm
Location: Stuttgart

Post by raminator » Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:02 am

you can convert voxels to shp...
though it´s no one-click job...

chrisf
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:59 am

Post by chrisf » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:52 pm

We *could* write a better tool to make it so ;)

User avatar
Holy_Master
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 10:04 am

Post by Holy_Master » Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:52 am

i dunno but he should improve engine to support 3d model for unit/building. :P

chrisf
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:59 am

Post by chrisf » Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:59 pm

I don't consider 3d models to be much of an "improvement".

knivesron
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:05 am

Post by knivesron » Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:05 am

if you want to use 3d models, why dont you just use the spring engine?

User avatar
Holy_Master
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 10:04 am

Post by Holy_Master » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:47 pm

because spring base on TA gameplay and it no choice to use 2d together.

xan2622
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:27 pm

Post by xan2622 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:45 pm

OpenRA now supports voxels.

Matt
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:08 am


Post Reply