Thoughts from a player playing Red Alert for a couple of months

I have played this game a couple of months. I saw that the developers want the communities opinions on matters on the Red Alert mod. Here are mine, summarized in a big and well structured post.

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Que_Boi_de_Rasa

Thoughts from a player playing Red Alert for a couple of months

Post by Que_Boi_de_Rasa »

Hello! I'm known as Que Boi de Rasa, aka "The Strategic Genius" and I'm a well respected member of this community. I started playing some months ago and here are some thoughts after playing this game so far. These are targeted at the developers (as I saw the update of you asking for the communities thoughts on where Red Alert should go).

Balance related things

Here are some of the things I think are balance related issues. I am mainly a 3v3 and 4v4 player, which probably might give a different perspective on some things.

Allied AA-turrets

I think that AA-turrets are way too powerful. There not a single thing I hate more to play against.

Allied AA-turrets are much stronger than Soviet SAM-sites. I have no idea why. I remember it being the opposite in the original C&C Red Alert games (there Allied AA was near useless because it had very limited range).

It is my opinion that it is widely known that allied AA is much stronger. In team games it is common for Soviet teammates to request that Allied teammates build AA-turrets for them, because of this.

AA-turrets have too long range

(The opposite of the original games, where SAM-site used to have longer range). See this picture on how big the difference is (blue circle is range of AA-turret, red circle is range of SAM-site).
aa-range.png
aa-range.png (328.12 KiB) Viewed 15943 times