Iron Curtain Intentional Feature or Bug?

Discussion about the game and its default mods.
Post Reply
zinc
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:46 pm

Iron Curtain Intentional Feature or Bug?

Post by zinc » Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:27 pm

When you try to iron curtain something close to being destroyed, and you use it around the moment of your units destruction, the iron curtain is still used up without any benefit.

Intentional feature or bug?

abcdefg30
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:00 pm

Post by abcdefg30 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:31 pm

Sounds like a bug to me.

User avatar
FRenzy
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 8:00 am

Post by FRenzy » Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:43 am

Also happens on moving vehicules, not being IC'ed, wasting it, iirc.

My (dormant) YouTube channel : FRenzy OpenRA
Join the map-making train here

User avatar
FiveAces
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 11:22 pm
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Post by FiveAces » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:32 am

zinc wrote: When you try to iron curtain something close to being destroyed, and you use it around the moment of your units destruction, the iron curtain is still used up without any benefit.

Intentional feature or bug?
That bug has been around forever, and it has cost me many many engagements.
Let's hope for a fix in the near future, it's #2 on my list of most hated bugs,
right after the bug where breaking line of sight during a forcefire maneuver results in a move order.

Even worse, you can "miss" your own moving units with an IC, resulting in a wasted cooldown for no benefit whatsoever.

My guess would be that the game checks for a valid IC target first and applies the effect a couple ticks later, and if the cell empties in the meantime... tough luck.

User avatar
anjew
Posts: 520
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:16 am

Post by anjew » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:10 am

FiveAces wrote: My guess would be that the game checks for a valid IC target first and applies the effect a couple ticks later, and if the cell empties in the meantime... tough luck.
I think the Chrono also suffers from this
Image

User avatar
netnazgul
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:32 am
Location: Minsk
Contact:

Post by netnazgul » Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:14 pm

This is all experimental tech stuff from the 50s, people, it requires you being still while it is applied or else consequences :P

But seriously the game would of course become better with this fixed.

noobmapmaker
Posts: 1086
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:59 am

Post by noobmapmaker » Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:31 pm

Cant it check for the number of units that are IC'd or teleported? If the number of units is <0 then the countdown timer is reset to 0 seconds. Not the best solution, but maybe a solution.
Playlist with ALL games of the Dark Tournament Youtube.com/CorrodeCasts
Consider supporting OpenRA by setting a bounty or by donating for a server

AMHOL
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:24 pm

Post by AMHOL » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:29 am

noobmapmaker wrote: Cant it check for the number of units that are IC'd or teleported? If the number of units is <0 then the countdown timer is reset to 0 seconds. Not the best solution, but maybe a solution.
There's a bug in your pseudocode.

noobmapmaker
Posts: 1086
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:59 am

Post by noobmapmaker » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:34 am

AMHOL wrote:
noobmapmaker wrote: Cant it check for the number of units that are IC'd or teleported? If the number of units is <0 then the countdown timer is reset to 0 seconds. Not the best solution, but maybe a solution.
There's a bug in your pseudocode.
Pseudocode? Go wash your mouth young man! But there indeed is. Should be smaller than 1. I'm not sure if there is a trait or something that allows to check how many units are selected by the IC/CS, but that seems like a possible solution. Im trying to think of a situation where one does want the IC or the CS to go off when 0 units are selected. The only situation I can think of is when units are to be chronoshifted but they move out of the selectable area. But even then perhaps we dont want the CS to go off.
Playlist with ALL games of the Dark Tournament Youtube.com/CorrodeCasts
Consider supporting OpenRA by setting a bounty or by donating for a server

zinc
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:46 pm

Post by zinc » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:13 pm

Yeah I would say the Chrono shouldn't go off if there is nothing selected. However, I don't see a problem with it failing if you try to jump to an area that is already occupied. You get a warning for that in the colour of the grid.

noobmapmaker
Posts: 1086
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:59 am

Post by noobmapmaker » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:10 pm

Yeah true.
Playlist with ALL games of the Dark Tournament Youtube.com/CorrodeCasts
Consider supporting OpenRA by setting a bounty or by donating for a server

Post Reply