TO ALL THOSE HOSTING OPENRA SERVERS

Remember to foward the appropriate ports

Official announcements from the developers.
freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:01 pm

Post by freak » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:52 pm

OpenRA online gaming emulator:

step 1: stare at this picture:
Image
step 2: Go to step 1.

Matt
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Matt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:33 pm

Have a look at your servers.log to debug the problem. If it annoys you so much add a comment with @chrisforbes in https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/pull/2403 to get his attention so that he finally reviews my code. Please keep in mind that UPnP only works for hardware routers. Software firewalls are not affected.

MCSboutik
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:23 am

howto dedicated

Post by MCSboutik » Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:24 am

hi, i have a dedicated server running debian.
i would like to host an openra server but wasn't able to find howto do that.

any help ?

thx

Matt
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Germany

Re: howto dedicated

Post by Matt » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:37 pm

MCSboutik wrote: hi, i have a dedicated server running debian.
i would like to host an openra server but wasn't able to find howto do that.

any help ?

thx
Ask https://github.com/ihptru preferable in IRC and remind him to update https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Dedicated

MeSaber
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:01 pm

Post by MeSaber » Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:55 am

http://portforward.com/english/routers/ ... rindex.htm

Choose your router and follow instructions.. be sure to shut off windows firewall if ure using a router with firewall.. no point in having doubles..

ajahajah
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:17 am

Still cannot host

Post by ajahajah » Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:22 am

Hi there,

I am from Singapore and I am using linksys router. My IP is 218.186.18.227:1234

I have already port forward 1234 and also triggered the port in the router settings. I have also enabled allow access for windows firewall both port 1234 and the game file. However, everytime I host a game, nobody can join my game which I believe it is not listed in the "join servers".

Whenever I create a game, it gets listed in http://openra.res0l.net/games/ but still no one joins my game. I still think there is a problem hosting from my side.

Appreciate any help!! I want to host games to play with my friends!

ddd
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:04 pm

Post by ddd » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:54 am

What does http://canyouseeme.org/ say to you about 1234 port when your openra server is running?

ajahajah
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:17 am

Post by ajahajah » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:18 pm

ddd wrote: What does http://canyouseeme.org/ say to you about 1234 port when your openra server is running?
It says that it did not find my service on port 1234. However, the IP as detected which is 116.88.24.26, is not correct either. I cannot manually enter the IP as the field is blocked out.

I clicked on the IP check tool in the link below and it is showing me another IP.

ddd
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:04 pm

Post by ddd » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:35 pm

You are failed to make port-forwarding through your router properly. The detected IP address you see there is correct. Port forwarding is the following thing:
<your_Router_IP_of_External_Interface=116.88.24.26>:1234 | <your_Router_IP_of_Interternal_Interface>:1234 <-> <your_Internal_LAN_Computer_IP>:1234

You need to throw port from <your_Router_IP_of_Interternal_Interface> to <your_Internal_LAN_Computer_IP> inside your LAN private network.

Florp
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:09 am

Post by Florp » Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:12 am

Hello,

I had a games night with my work colleagues tonight. We are all system administrators and know our way around routers. We found that even though we tried DMZ, forwarding 1234 (and other ports such as 80, 443, and random) we could not get connections to work. We also tried the upnp options mentioned earlier in this thread with no success.

It seems that 1 in 5 servers online is connectable. There appears to be something deeper going on here than just port forwarding ignorance in the user base.

Thanks,
Dave

ddd
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:04 pm

Post by ddd » Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:45 am

You can have some filters on your work. We have never seen any problems with ports except that they weren't properly configured. And properly configured hetzner servers and others are JUST work.

Florp
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:09 am

Post by Florp » Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:06 pm

We were outside of the office firewall - on our home PCs. No windows firewall. Open ports. Looking for other options at this point.

ddd
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:04 pm

Post by ddd » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:25 am

Try to turn off antivirus software on host PC while testing port.

Kanar
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:39 pm

Post by Kanar » Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:02 pm

Just FYI:

There have been some changes; it's not possible anymore to create your own server and then to join your own game via "join" (to test if your server is accessible); this does not mean your server is inaccessible!
You have to select "direct connect" now to see if it works.

User avatar
jaZz_KCS
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: Bremen

TO ALL THOSE HOSTING OPENRA SERVERS

Post by jaZz_KCS » Sat Jun 25, 2016 9:12 am

TO ALL THOSE HOSTING OPENRA SERVERS

There is now no need anymore - as from version 20160508 on - to sync you maps on your dedicated server manually. If the master server connection is successfully established, your dedicated server will now be able to auto-sync every map when needed, meaning that all maps (corresponding mapformat and build) should be available for play on your server, regardless of the maps physically present in your server's dir.

Post Reply