Debian Package

Official announcements from the developers.
Post Reply
beedee
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Wellington
Contact:

Debian Package

Post by beedee » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:06 am

A binary package usable on all debian based systems (including Ubuntu) has finally been released.

Download it here: http://open-ra.org/releases/linux/download.php

Thanks to Iran for doing most of the hard parts for me.

Still to come for linux packages:
  • Better changelog integration
  • Freedesktop compliant menu entries/desktop icons
  • Man pages

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:16 pm

Nice! One problem is that the bold part in the description needs to be smaller (only a few words). 'apt-cache search openra' shows:

Code: Select all

maikel@computer-maikel:~$ apt-cache search openra
libopenraw-dev - free implementation for RAW decoding - development files
libopenraw1 - free implementation for RAW decoding
libopenraw1-dbg - debugging symbols for libopenraw
libopenrawgnome-dev - GNOME integration for libopenraw - development files
libopenrawgnome1 - free implementation for RAW decoding (GNOME integration)
libopenrawgnome1-dbg - debugging symbols for libopenrawgnome
rasmol-doc - Documentation for rasmol
openra - A multiplayer reimplementation of the Command & Conquer: Red Alert game engine in .NET/Mono, OpenGL, OpenAL and SDL. Has extensive modding support and includes Command & Conquer as an official mod.
The length of the description is quite unusually long. What problems are you having with the menu entries and desktop icons?

beedee
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Wellington
Contact:

Post by beedee » Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:07 pm

I was just using the description provided in the control file of the .deb you made. I'll fix it with the next release.

I'm not having a problem with the menu entries and the like, I just wanted to get the debian package working and distributed before moving on to that since I want it in all the linux packages.

Iran
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 3:16 pm

Post by Iran » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:26 pm

Ah, nice to know. Yeah, I saw the problem only after testing apt-cache on the file. :/ Sorry about that.

Post Reply